My Favorite Fun Way to Learn - Listening Comprehension with Audiobooks

in #blog5 years ago


#LearnEnglishAudiobook #listeningcomprehension #Audiobooks
Here is the link to Audible to get started with Listening to Audiobooks. This link also helps support the channel and the lessons I make for everyone.
USA Link:
https://www.audible.com/pd/B07T7KFB7S/?source_code=AUDFPWS0223189MWT-BK-ACX0-155248&ref=acx_bty_BK_ACX0_155248_rh_us

UK Link:
https://www.audible.co.uk/pd/B07T7KHFB8/?source_code=AUKFrDlWS02231890H6-BK-ACX0-155248&ref=acx_bty_BK_ACX0_155248_rh_uk

France Link:
https://www.audible.fr/pd/B07T7X1SK4/?source_code=FRAORWS022318903B-BK-ACX0-155248&ref=acx_bty_BK_ACX0_155248_rh_fr

Germany Link:
https://www.audible.de/pd/B07T7X5F7G/?source_code=EKAORWS0223189009-BK-ACX0-155248&ref=acx_bty_BK_ACX0_155248_rh_de

Many of my students ask me how they can improve their listening comprehension skills and their sentence building skills. Well, I have a way that I use in my school and with my private students that is natural but more importantly.
It’s fun.
Being fun is the best part of this technique for improving your English listening and your sentence building. Want to know what it is? What is this fun way to learn that works for both children and adults? ???
Audiobooks!
Now, I will give you an example plan for using audiobooks but first, I want to talk about why audiobooks work for my students.
Most of my students think this can’t work, but I have the success in my classrooms to prove this is an overlooked way to learn English. So today, I want to first, tell you 1. why this works wonders with my students. 2 How it will help you with natural English sentence building. And 3. Why it is the easiest way to add English to your daily life while you do other things.
First, Why does this work well with my students? It’s simple. It is fun and easy. My students love listening to the stories that they already know from their native language and then hearing it in English is like listening for the first time. You get a new voice for each character and since you already know what happens in the story, you can listen for fun instead of working hard. Since it is fun and easy, my students get the benefit of daily practice for longer than the time they would normally study. They don’t think of English audiobooks as studying. They can just enjoy the story and get the added benefit of quickly becoming comfortable with listening to English.
Second, Why will audiobooks work to help YOU with your listening skills and sentence building. The first is easy to see. You have to listen to the story to understand what is going on. There are no written words to help you. You must learn how to listen and follow the story. This immersive nature of an audiobook is a great way to fall into English. Your imagination is engaged while you listen. This helps you to remember things much faster and much easier. Now how does an audiobook help you with your sentence building?
Patterns. Pure. Natural. Patterns.
Audiobooks use natural patterns to communicate the story idea. By listening to the story, you will start to hear common patterns repeated to build the sentences. The natural patterns in the English language are easy to notice when you listen to them for a while.
By adding an audiobook to your daily routine, you will quickly improve your listening comprehension skills and learn the patterns that are commonly used in English helping you with your own sentence building.
Which brings us to 3. It is the easiest way to add English to your day.
The convenient part of English audiobooks is that you can listen to them anywhere. In the gym, walking after dinner, on your way to and from work. Audiobooks can be a part of your morning while you get ready for the day. I personally listen to them when I run and when I get ready for work. My students listen on the bus rides to school and when they go to academy. My adult students listen while they go to work and when they are relaxing. It’s amazing to imagine but you can easily add 30 minutes or more a day of pure English this way.
So now let’s talk about a plan.
I want to break this into 3 main parts. Beginner, Intermediate, and Advanced.

Please Like / Share / Subscribe to help the channel grow. Join the Facebook community here: https://www.facebook.com/Listenandlearnenglish

Buy my study workbook "Let's Build a Sentence: The Easy way": https://amzn.to/2V8oEAe

Buy my children's book "The Storyteller: The King": https://amzn.to/2VjjPmo

Buy my 2nd children's book "The Storyteller: Nightmare Island": https://amzn.to/2J7fZJ0

Sort:  

Congratulations @itstheexperience! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 50 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 100

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62441.36
ETH 2940.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59