Our Trip to Hell's Gate, British Columbia, Canada

in #blog6 years ago

Hell's Gate Sign.jpg
On our way back from our holiday in British Columbia last summer we decided to stop and see Hell's Gate. Hell's Gate is along the Transcanada highway not too far from the coast. The Fraser river runs next to the highway and there is a set of train tracks high up on both banks of the river. There is a tram that takes you down to the tourist area from the parking area next to the highway.

Wooden Eagle Up Top.jpg
This eagle carving was in the building up top where you get on to the tram.

Tram Up Top.jpg
The tram operator told us that there is a trail that you can take to get to the bottom without using the tram. He said it takes the better part of a day to get down and it certainly is not a hike for beginners. Every year people try to go on foot but once they get to the bottom, they generally beg to take the tram back.

Tram View Going Down.jpg
The tram operator said the trail has got a few tricky spots going downhill and it is a deceptively long, winding trail. They say they don't offer rides one way. I suspect that is to discourage people from making the mistake of taking the trail. I'd be willing to bet they don't turn anyone away that begs for a ride back.

Fishway from the Tram.jpg
This is the fishway, the fishway was put in to help the salmon spawn. Historically the fish had always spawned through this area. The local natives harvested the fish and used them as a source of food. Canadian Pacific Railway had a set of tracks on one side of the river. Canadian Northern Railway started constructing tracks on the other side of the river and in 1914 they caused a rockslide that fell into the river.

Fishway and Train Tracks.jpg
The river became too violent for the salmon to cross. They said there was a point where the local natives were netting the fish on one side and releasing them on the other to assist the salmon in spawning. The salmon were an important source of food and trade.

Fishway from Bridge.jpg
Eventually with pressure from the natives the river was cleared of debris as much as possible and the fishway was constructed to assist the salmon in spawning. The fishway has wiers that flood and drain to give the salmon a less turbulent path to travel upstream and downstream.

River from the Bridge.jpg
There was a suspension bridge at the bottom that you could cross to the other side of the river and walk up to the train tracks. The bridge was made out of grating and you could look through the grating at the river below. It gives a funny feeling to be standing over such a turbulent body of water.

Bridge Below.jpg
This is the tourist area as seen from the other side of the river. I have very few pictures of the tourist area itself. There was as ice cream stand and a gift shop. There were sign boards and benches. I don't like getting pictures of all the man made clutter in the tourist areas especially in a beautiful natural area like this.

Railway Snowshed.jpg
I was able to walk up and look at the railway snowshed. These are to protect the train tracks from getting blocked by avalanches. There was a danger sign warning that it was illegal to trespass on railway property.

Tram from Below.jpg
This is the view of the tram from up by the snowshed.

Bridge and Fishway from Tourist Centre.jpg
There was a pay telescope you could use to look at the fishway. I just used my camera.

Tourist Area Bird Feeder .jpg
In the main part of the tourist area they had a nice little treed in area that you could sit. There was a bird eating from a bird feeder that was there.

Hell's Gate was a really cool place to check out. The fishway is an amazing piece of engineering. It's hard to believe they did all of that for the fish but it's good that they did.

Sort:  

Beautiful place! :)

I really do love this country in the summer.

We spent ten days total travelling through British Columbia. We made our way from Alberta to Vancouver Island and back. I don't think there was a day where we weren't somewhere beautiful. It was great.

I've done that trip a few times. If you're all the way out to Vancouver Island again make a day trip over to Saltspring Island. I was just there again this past weekend. It's a pretty cool island. Brings you back in time a little.

MVIMG_20180217_160245.jpg

IMG_20150728_141553-EFFECTS.jpg

I actually have been to Saltspring Island. It's been quite a few years and I never had my camera last time. It's definitely time to go back again. It was a beautiful place.

My uncle has a cabin there. We went and stayed years ago. It was a really cool trip. We went to one of my uncle's friends houses and took a rowboat over to a little island and went clamming. The little island we rowed over to was just a rock popping out of the ocean with a little bit of sand around it but I remember my uncle saying something about it being a park or something.

We had clam chowder that night and the next day we hiked up to a lake. It was about a half hour walk through the bush. On the way to the lake we passed through an old overgrown orchard. That was kind of neat to see out in the middle of the bush. I think my uncle said the lake was where Ganges got their water supply from. The lake shore was a rock overhang with a fairly steep bank coming down. Someone had set up a rope swing to swing into the lake. We spent a good part of the day there swimming and hanging out by the lake.

Next to the cabin my uncle had a treehouse. It was a 10' x 10' garden shed suspended 80' up in between two trees. He had it hanging from cables. It was probably the coolest tree house I've been in (although I know there are way cooler ones).

Since the last time I was there he lowered the tree house down and expanded it. They rent out the cabin we stayed in last time and the tree house got expanded into the new cabin. I'm sure my uncle would let us stay there if we were out visiting. I just have to make the trip again. It's been over 20 years and I'm sure the island has changed since then.

Thanks for the idea. It's always good to hear new places to check out. Saltspring Island is on my list for the future.

Sounds like a great trip. Having a local to show you around really helps to find the special spots.

If it's been 20 years it will look about the same. But for Saltspring a lot has actually changed.

Well worth bumping up the vacation list. It's a little easier to get there from Vancouver now as well so that is helpful if driving out.

Oh and that tree house 80 ft in the air sounds awesome. Too bad you didn't have a photo of that.

Digital cameras weren't around back then. I was off on my calculations. It was closer to 30 years. Sorry about that. Time flies.

I'm going to see if my mother got any pictures. She's always taking photos on vacations. There's a good chance she has a picture in an album somewhere. I keep thinking about whether we have a picture of it myself. Especially since the treehouse as it was is essentially gone now.

Like most things you take pictures of, I'm sure the photo is less impressive. It's hard to capture the real appearance of things that are tall and steep in photographs for some reason.

I remember taking pictures of steep ski hills thinking how impressive it would be to show people. When I actually had a good look at the pictures I didn't end up showing the pictures to anyone because it didn't look steep at all in the photo. In reality I was wondering how I was going to get down from where I was at.

My uncle had a story about riding out a storm in that treehouse. He was sleeping in it for some reason and woke up to a storm. He had to ride it out until the storm ended because it was too dangerous to try and come down. The treehouse was suspended between two trees from a cable and the ladder was on a third tree not attached to the treehouse. The storm was what was left of a hurricane that came up the coast from the USA. That would have been a wild night.

There were some good stories to go with the things we saw. I wish I had pictures to post from that trip.

Everything on Salt Spring is magical and makes for a great story and some great memories. Sounds like you need a trip back there for sure.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66149.24
ETH 3015.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73