What would we do without our pets?

in #blog6 years ago

How do pets benefit our wellbeing?


963D5962-BA41-46EC-B688-9B16F0708290.png

Pets play a big role in our mental health. People who struggle with depression, PTSD, schizophrenia, anxiety and many other illnesses benefit from having a pet. Some studies revealed that having a pet offers people a deep sense of "ontological security" — that is, the feeling of stability, continuity, and meaning in one's life. Having a pet also helps some to keep a strong sense of identity, self-worth, and existential meaning. They provide support and acceptance without judgement.

Pets can also have a calming affect on the mind. Just petting, playing or grooming your pet can take your mind off of stressful topics. Caring for your pet gives you a sense of purpose and happiness.

In my own life, the most lonely 4 months I remember living were the months between the passing of my first cat and adopting my second. Even though I had friends family and my significant other, the death of my first cat was unexpected and left me with a sense of loneliness, guilt and emptiness.

When I got my first cat (as an adult), I was depressed, trying to find a purpose and just needed a friend. F2D224EF-6276-4B8E-93AC-2BBC05E62BC6.jpeg
That’s when I adopted Pumpkin. I adopted him in October, so the name Pumpkin kind of just fit, especially because he was an orange fluff ball.
Pumpkin lived a short life - until he was about 18 months. About a month after his annual vet check up and shots, he became ill. I brought him in to the emergency vet to find out he had formed crystals in his urethra and bladder. We don’t know what caused this. Apparently male cats are very susceptible to this illness. Because of the severity of it, I opted to euthanize him because the vet could not ensure me that he’d make it out of surgery.
My fiancé and I agreed (or so i thought) we wouldn’t get another pet for a while because his passing was so traumatic and sudden. I decided to find a job working at a veterinary practice so I could be around pets all day long. The veterinary office I got hired at focused on preventative care so that meant I wouldn’t be around sick, injured or dying pets!

About a week after getting a job there, my fiancé brings home another cat!
2C992125-424E-4096-911A-A88D7F58E71F.jpeg

So, we named him Jeffery (Jeff for short). He is now 2 years old and the spunkiest, most talkative cat I’ve ever had. I couldn’t imagine living life without a pet of some sort.

Both of my cats have brought me a sense of importance and happiness. They depend on me just as much as I depend on them. The difference my cats have made in my life is tremendous. Although the death of a pet can be traumatic, it just makes the love for the next pet that much more deal and meaningful.

Regardless of my short story, I believe pets can change lives. Do you have a pet? How does your pet affect your mental health and well-being?

Comment below! Share your story!

-J-

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-21T17:34:51
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 7.50/100.00
Total Photos: 1
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62596.14
ETH 3021.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65