[M-Blog] My Computer Broke 😨 + Promotion LiesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #blog5 years ago

Hey everyone! 👋

I promise I've not been neglecting you😅 honest.

I just wanted to give you guys a quick update on what's been happening with me over my past week of absense.

This has been an incredibly eventful week for all the wrong reasons.


My computer broke!

(behold a machine as old as time itself)

This was built by my wife before we even met, so that makes this beast a minimum of 12 years old, more likely 14-15 though.

It has performed very well over that time only occasionally requiring maintenance. The only parts I've upgraded over time have been the graphics card and the wireless card 😁 you know, the important things 👍

So what's wrong with it?

Well, on boot-up it hit me with a certain error message "NB Overheat" 🤔 that can't mean too many things, likely a fan or a heatsink problem.

Lo-and-behold when I open the case I see this little bugger.

My NB heatsink has totally come free from the motherboard and is exposing the chip beneath 😨 dude. How does that even happen?

I figure all I need is a new strip of thermal paste and im good to go, but that'll have to wait until next Friday when I get paid 😒 lame.

I guess those videos ive been working on will have to wait, or I'll just do them in blog format instead of vlog? 🤔🤔

Either way, it sucks bad having my computer be out of commission. Thank god for partiko, hah!

Now, I wish that were the only thing that had gone awry...


My Promotion Has Vanished

Yep. 😫😞

I've been waiting to transition into my new position for six months while they tried to find my replacement. I guess it is surprisingly hard to find dedicated Night Auditors, or so they say.

That difficult task was made harder because two of my managers in charge of hiring got fired... and you can't really hire someone when you have no managers, so what are ya gunna' do?

I interviewed and got the position, I just had to wait. Well - that was until the director of the department I'm joining decided to leave... taking the promotion with him.

I didn't get anything in writing even after several requests, and now no one is answering my emails regarding this.. they're just going dark. 😞

I guess that opportunity is gone now. I'll probably have to re- interview with the new director, and there's no guarantee I'll get it.

I feel manipulated and... exploited.

That's been weighing on my mind pretty heavily since Monday. I feel like an idiot and I don't really know what to do - I'm just sitting here feeling violated.

It's weeks like this that squash any motivation I have to create.. maybe I need to use it as motivation TO create.

I dont really want to use this as an outlet for my problems though.

So in saying that, I'll leave it there.


What to expect soon

I've made videos on the following topics but I'll rework them into blogs since my computer is dead right now.

  • The Problem with the Blocktrades Worker Proposal System.
  • Steem's birthday and getting Steem on Coinbase
  • Spreading Steem awareness in your community

and finally

Chapter 2 of my @freewritehouse short story.

Stay tuned, and thanks for being there with me!

Stay awesome 😁👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Well... that’s sucks!
Sorry man. :(
Keep your chin up, you just never know what is coming.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I appreciate that man thanks

Posted using Partiko Android

Here are a few pennies for a new one 😂😂😂 sorry mam that sucks! Can't wawe for the next chapter!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Haha cheers mate 😅👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @johneyreacko! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 900 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 1000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @johneyreacko! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61626.58
ETH 2940.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66