An Update, A Look Forward and a Quick Peek Back

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemit world! Today I thought I would write a little bit about whats going on in my crazy music life and what I have planned for the upcoming months. It's been three years since I left Australia, moved back to Canada for a month then off to my current home of the Netherlands. I always get a little sentimental around this time of year, but instead of looking back, I want to invite my fellow Steemit users to look at the now and look forward!

29665406_2005067409523089_6152302876095296415_o.jpg

Band management

As stated in my Last Blog, I'm juggling a few bands at the same time. It's getting a little easier now as I'm quite familiar with all the material. I am a little sad to say that the Jenn B blues band will be coming to an end. Jenn felt that after a long time together with the band, she wants to go in a new direction. We all understand her viewpoint and support Jenn in her pursuit of sound, music and love. I do still have a few more gigs with the Jenn B band, one of which happened on Saturday, which means....

Saturday in Germany with Jenn B

I played a gig with the Jenn B band just recently (Saturday April 14) and had a lot of fun. It always helps to have some delicious currywurst met pommes (German sausage with curry sauce and french fries!) to make things go well and to play on a full stomach. The festival started with two solo acts and the crowd got a little restless. We brought the blues and the power with our set and the people, as well as the festival organizers loved it! I dropped a stick at a random time so that drove me a little crazy but I recovered and I don't think anyone noticed. I thought the drum sound in the room was not good and I was disappointed, however I know at this stage in my career, a happy band, crowd and festival means shut up and be happy. I believe we have two more gigs to play before we stop all together. It will be a sad day no question.

Drum Videos and Steemit

I am happy to say I have a few places where I can film my drum videos so I am excited to say that I will be making just as many, if not more drum videos. I will continue to push myself and to learn new techniques, never stopping my studies and exploratory pilgrimage to be the best drummer I can be. I published a recent video HERE and have another one already filmed and waiting to be edited. I think you guys will like what I'm doing and I'm really enjoying myself making them. What more could you ask?

29663195_863439363856079_2160605718958977272_o.jpg

Teaching gigging and Stef Paglia

I have slowed down my teaching a little bit. WIth the closing of my studio, I wasn't sure if I wanted to continue teaching or stop altogether. I am happy to say I found a great little building that is looking for some help and will offer me some space in return. It's an orchestra and I couldn't think of a better setup for kids and parents alike to learn music, and be apart of a beautiful sound. I haven't said yes yet, but you can tell my excitement is leading me to lean to one side.

With the Stef Paglia Trio we are looking to record our new album. We have a gofundme page if you are interested in getting some great rewards (including a drum lesson from me!) and of course the finished album when we record. But of course this isn't an add for the album, this is an update. We have had two great gigs together, a fantastic gig at a festival in Belgium, proving to ourselves and the audience we can play with the best of the best in the blues scene. We have a great repertoire of songs built, our grooves are getting deep and our love for one another is always growing. We are learning to trust each other more, be confident in what we can do and search for that perfect music sound together. I can't say enough great things about playing in this band!
24068872_862724730594209_5971707214473691346_o.jpg

Ash and Europe!

So far it's set that I will tour with Ash in Europe again this summer. At this point nothing has been confirmed but we are nearly confident it will be a reality. I've been talking a lot with Ash and he is such a great guy, with such a great view of the world. I learn from him and he is not scared to tell me to get better when I need it. It's a rare chance you get to play with your heroes, and even more rare that they are kind, compassionate and loving human beings. Anywhere Ash wants me to play in the world I am there without a second thought.

Music Music Music

I am feeling great physically. I haven't been able to say that for two years but it has taken me a long time to get healthy again from all the strain my drumming has on my body. I can say now the music is pouring out of me. The ideas are coming too fast for me to capture them all. I am a vessel for creativity at this point and I can't wait to be involved in as many musical creations as I can. I am playing a set with a DJ for the final music day at the Nix en Meer which will be a great experience.

20180330_113028.jpg

Thank you

Again I can't thank everyone on Steemit for taking an interest in my writing and my music. I really found a fantastic home here. I promised a big 100 subscriber post and I'm way behind on it! I will deliver but I am almost at 200 followers so you guys are making me rush to get it out before I hit 200! I have my idea and I will hope to deliver it AS SOON AS POSSIBLE

As always thank you for reading

-Joel

Sort:  

You have a minor misspelling in the following sentence:

I thought the drum sound in the room was not good and I was dissapointed, however I know at this stage in my career, a happy band, crowd and festival means shut up and be happy.
It should be disappointed instead of dissapointed.

Your post received an upvote by the @illuminati-Inc music curation team and its partner @curie.

You may consider voting for the Curie witness; all witness payouts are used to fund Curie operations including but not limited to more than 10 curation teams (vote here).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60385.11
ETH 2889.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65