Blogging Around Day 47: Crazy Walmart Day! Theft, Africans, and Charity!

in #blog6 years ago

Welcome to My Blog!

Enjoy This Playlist While You Read!

Urban Dictionary Word of the Day:

Pulled a Nixon

When one is said to 'pull a Nixon', it means that s/he was in a position of power, until screwing up really bad. Facing the consequence of firing/impeachment/whatever, this person resigns to avoid this punishment, as Nixon did.

"I literally screwed the pooch and my boss was about to find out, so I pulled a Nixon".

====== What A Walmart Day! ====


The Little Things

So, three days ago I wrote a Walmart Rant, but today I had an exciting day, to say the least. My day was filled with theft, Africans, and a wondeful charity. First, let me start with the small things. So, I had a customer that walked into the self-checkout area and asked,

Are you here to check me out or help if I need some?

Seriously? I suppose the name isn't very inuitive enough. This is similar to customers that walk up to a cash only register, with a sign saying cash only, a screen border saying cash only, and a prompt asking if you wish to continue with cash only, yet still continue checking items out then asking why it won't accept cards.

I also had a department manager use gay in a derogatory manner. It caught me by surprise, like are we in 2002 again? Shouldn't surprise me that this hick town had a conservacuck MAGAstar in it ready to use derogatory slurs about a marginalized community. But, 🤷, whatchyu gonna do? People in power, right?

Theft!

Someone literally walked off with a DVD player today. It was so annoying. She was impatient and didn't want to try figure out how to use the self-checkout machine and got to the point where she was asked if she wanted a protection plan. I needed to confirm someone's age for an alcohol sale and as I turned around, she up and left. Thankfully, the customers behind her saw the entire thing and informed me. They also managed to grab the license plate number so I was able to report it to my manager.

Africans

I had several Africans from Uganda, Ghana, and Morocco come through the self-checkout. They were all a part of a Smithsonian program through George Mason University. Each of them took a little time out of their day to share their experiences with me and we each laughed over differences between African culture and American culture. Tomorrow was their last day in America so they exchanged their money back to their local currencies. I wish I took photos of them because they looked cool.

Charity

One parent brought her kid with lots of extra change saved to buy food for the homeless... because one of her friend's birthday wish was to do so. How sweet is that? Faith in humanity restored.

Thanks For Stopping By!

As You Leave, Enjoy This Closing Video!



How to Dispute a Strike -- DMCA Process Explained

Sort:  

African President's Response to the Nixon choice (Zimbabwe's Mugabe, Uganda's Museveni)😆😆😆

Did Nixon take power by the gun? Did he understand the sacrifice of cold nights out in the dark?

We never resign unless it is a matter of life and death....

How can i be president and then so willingly become an ordinary citizen?

And then, whoever thinks i am not leading well, can take the same route i took to get power! 💪 I am a revolutionary, i became president by the bullet! So don't tell me to resign!

Resign and go where? To look after cattle? At least Nixon maybe had a ranch to return to.

So pleaseeee. i am not about to 'pull a nixon'😇

It is always smart to pull a nixon, but i think, political wise, it is still a Western World sort of Thing, not African, even after all these years.

But hopefully We Africa's will someday, sooner hopefully reach that level of political discourse where we are willing to take responsibility of our actions and to leave the stage....of course not in the fashion Zimbabwe's Mugabe, or in that which Uganda's Museveni appears destined for.

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.3$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63035.00
ETH 3022.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82