Why my first weeks of my new adventure have been nothing but perfect

in #blog6 years ago

I've now been living in Sigerfjord, Vesterålen, for two weeks, and boy, what a great couple of weeks it have been!

I've made new friends
Before I moved I'd already met some people here, but I now feel that I can call those people my friends. Many of them are from other places in Norway too, so I guess it's easy to get to know people who are in the same situation. I love meeting new people, and we've already had so much fun together – I can barely wait to see what 2018 has in store!

I've tried new things
I've tried Brazillian jiu jitsu AND we cut our own Christmas tree from our neighborhood. Read about that here :)

I've seen Northern lights - twice!
Totally on my bucket list. Check ;) See proof here :)

I've learned to find the darkness cosy
Because Sigerfjord is above the polar circle, it gets dark really early. Today it was light outside till about 1.30 pm, but it really doesn't bother me. I think it's charming, because you get to light candles early in the day, and the best part is that when the sun is back, we get Midnight Sun, which means it's light aaall day and night for a couple of months. I can't wait!

I've managed to get a job
I came here without any job, and people thought that was a bit crazy. But I had a feeling that everything would work out, and so it did :) I will be teaching at a local high school, and I'm super-excited to get to know the students and colleagues.

I've gotten some new selfies and a lot of pictures of beautiful nature
See them here:


Me, a house, and Sigerfjord


Sortland


Sigerfjord


Sortland

/Karianne :)

Sort:  

There's fjorden and then there are fjorden!

These are awe inspiring pictures to say the least!!! Absolutely beautiful!!

I must say that I would love to visit Norway someday but I believe it will be a summer vacation for the Mrs. and me.

I hope your new job goes well for you and keep posting the pics! Magic!

Peace,
The Last Sage

Thank you so much for your kind words! I hope you and the mrs get to visit Norway - where would you want to go? And where are you from? :)

Sigerfjord looks beautiful! Where I live it gets dark around 3pm this time a year and it always annoys me how dark most of the day is :D

It really is! Small, but very beautiful. So quite and nice ... Love living here :) Hehe, I can see it can be a bit annoying, but do you get the midnight sun during the summer?

blimey you have been busy. looks like you are happy and having fun thou! :)

Busy, but only with fun things :) And believe me, I've got plenty of time to relax too ;) Hope you've had a great Christmas!

yeah had a wonderful christmas. relaxed, recharged, whisky, chill down, considering, reflecting. making. playing. all the bits you need! :)

That sounds like a perfect Christmas :)

yeah one of the better ones i've had in a while, next year i wanna be on a beach somewhere! :)

Hallo og velkommen til nord-Norge😀flott post og blogg, takk for at du deler supre bilder, jeg vil følge deg😊

Hei! Tusen takk :) Hvor i nord holder du til? Det er såå vakkert her oppe :)

Jeg bor i Narvik og er gift med karja😀Ja det er veldig vakkert her nord, velkommen til malmbyen om det passer sånn ☺️

Så hyggelig :) Det kan fort tenkes vi trenger en guide der i løpet av det neste året :) :)

Æ savne dæ!

Æ savna dæ å!! Kom snart <3

Hei, ser ut som du har det fint oppe i nord :) Hvor var det du flyttet fra? Jeg har selv bodd 1 år i nord, Kirkenes. Det var en fantastisk opplevelse jeg aldri ville vært foruten!

Har det helt fantastisk :) Flyttet fra Stavanger. Ganske stor kontrast, må jeg si. "Alle" var skeptiske til å flytte opp i mørketida, men heller snø og nordlys enn sidelengs regn og vind ;) Har lyst til å sjekke ut Kirkenes også når jeg først er her oppe. Var det førstegangstjenesten?

Congrats to your new job! And such a cool thing with the northern lights :D

Thank you so much :) I know - they are absolutely amazing!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60837.81
ETH 2874.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62