[BLOG] We're at the hospital p2!!

in #blog6 years ago

Hey Steemians!

So last night I posted a blog that we're at the hospital since my mom was confined for a minor infection. We're still here for our second night and I can't believe what happened to our bill. This post is more of a rant/rage post but I'll still try to be as gentle on my words as ever. (lol)



My friends always knew me as someone who talks a LOT when angry and most of the time, fatal words comes out of my mouth although of course, I am doing it in the most "decent" way as possible. So, why am I angry? Well this morning, I had to go to work so I had to leave my mom alone in the hospital. I always knew that she can always take care of herself, plus, she was the one who urged me to go to work since she can't work for the day. However, when I was in the middle of my tasks she called me informing that our bill has already reached a whooping amount of P22,000 and we haven't been here for the whole 24 hour period yet! She also told me that her attending physician hasn't shown up until 3 in the afternoon when she was expecting him to be here in the morning. Then she asked her doctor about all the laboraty tests she had to undergo last night, claiming most of them were unnecessary. She understood that they needed to check her blood sugar levels although she has already told them that she doesn't have Diabetes. She also understood that the CBC and urine tests are necessary but she asked the staff why they had to take her to a chest X-ray when the problem is in her nose. Funny as it may seem, but it actually made sense.

"It would be okay for you to put me on ultrasound for my nose, but you didn't. What I don't get is that why do I have to undergo chest x-ray when I don't need it? And one more thing, I kept telling you that I just had my medical examination last month and I can give you my x-ray results but you wouldn't listen. I asked 3 staff nurses to sign me on a lipid profile examination to check on my cholesterol levels but they wouldn't let me. Why? Because there's no doctor's order! Other hospitals would already call the attending physician and get consent for the test but why won't you attend to my request? Instead, you put me on all these unnecessary and expensive tests!" My mom told the doctor when he finally showed up. "I can't even call the nurses' station when I am alone and need assistance because the intercom is not working." she added.



Who in the right mind would not question this? We got her a private room so that she could take a rest and recover but it seems like it's even stressing her out. So I rushed back to the hospital and when I arrived, she asked me to get her bill break down from the business office. We reviewed the break down and I asked her why she had multiple charges for the IV cannula of two different gauges. She told me that when I went home last night to get her stuff, the nurses tried installing the IV on her left hand - they tried 3 times but failed. My mom knows a lot about medical stuff so she would usually suggest something. "Why are you having difficulty intalling the IV? It hurts! Are you still practising these stuff? If the needle won't go through, please, use a smaller gauge!" She was furious, I would be too if it happened to me anyway. So they did. They installed one for pedia use and it finally worked. I seriously can't imagine the pain she had to go through, plus, they didn't give her a hospital gown to wear while she was waiting - she had to request for one herself. How funny is that?

Ok - so last night when we went to sleep, the a/c wasn't working well but we didn't mind. We were so tired that we fell asleep right away. However from time to time, the nurses would BARGE into the room. They would either take the vital signs, check on her IV or administer medicine. I mean, I wouldn't mind them coming into the room at night but why the hell would they have to BARGE in?! (I'm sorry - I almost said the F word there) They do not knock, they do not enter the room slowly. They literally BARGE in. They'd just suddenly open the door, come in, go over their stuff and get out. And because they kept barging in, me and my mom who seriously needs rest kept on waking up. It wasn't good for her. She experienced palpitations in the middle of the night because of that. The nurses are so rude too! We've been to a lot of hospitals before, especially last year when my dad was confined for months but never have we ever been to a hospital with this kind of service. If we only had the choice to go back to the hospitals we're used to, we definitely would. However since we're so from home, we don't really have any other choice. At least we now know what kind of service this hospital in Pampanga have.

For now, we're just so glad we can finally leave this dreaded place tomorrow afternoon.



DQmegECoZkB8qdvXK2WVHo287Un7kvpRitUzvR6y6xULWgJ.gif

Sort:  

Be strong and hope your mom will be ok... Prayers for your mom's health..

Thank you for your best wishes, @tonie xo

I laugh when you reach at the part wherein nurses would barge into the room, I can't imagine that's really happening. There should be silence in the hospital I mean nurses should be slow in coming in and going out so as not to disturb people esp the patient.

As to the hospital bill you may ask @meetmysuperego or @mermaidvampire at our GC I think hospital bills is subject to adjustments...

Hahaha! I never thought its happening until we got into this hospital either. We spent months in the hospital last year when my dad was confined and met different nurses at the time so I always knew that they don't have to barge in like that even though they do not have to knock. The patient is sleeping and needs rest after all.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 66795.37
ETH 3087.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72