RCs Will Be a Main Driving Factor for Steem Power in the Future

in #blog6 years ago

It seems that things are finally returning to normal here on the Steem blockchain. I've heard a few people mention that they are still having issues, but each day that passes I feel like I hear less and less issues and complaints.

Overall, I think the Hard Fork could have gone a lot smoother. I feel as though it may have been rushed, even though errors and bugs were known at the time.

Being pushed back a few days or weeks wouldn't have been a big deal to me. But as I like to say, I'm no developer and the people who are developing this blockchain are far more knowledgeable than I am.

While I think it could have gone smoother and without as many issues, I do think it was still worthwhile. I'm happy that we only had to sacrifice about 5 days of normality on the blockchain now so that we may have a more prosperous future.

Progress and challenging yourself and your project to reach new heights is far from easy. There are bound to be issues and speedbumps along the way. Once we accept that and look at the positives, we may find solace in this upgrade to the blockchain.


RCs are something that didn't really make much sense to me before the Hard Fork. I had an idea of what they were and a concept of how they might work, but their value really didn't cross my mind.

It was hard for me to visualize what the Steem blockchain would look like with RCs as a driving force for value.

But now that we have RCs in place and a few people on the blockchain have blogged about them, I think I have a much clearer idea of the value of RCs...

Now I see that RCs are not just some useless additional layer of complexity to the blockchain. I see that they can and probably will end up being a main growth factor for the STEEM token.

Why is this?

To put it as simply as I can, RCs will be highly desirable by future DApps and SMTs on the blockchain. Entrepreneurs will need RCs to run their operations on the blockchain and they will need to buy STEEM or rent RCs (by renting a delegation of SP) from SP hodlers like you and me.

It's all very exciting stuff and I'm glad that the picture has become much clearer. I'll continue to write about RCs as I learn more about them and brainstorm their use cases. I think this is all really interesting stuff and I'm glad to be a part of the blockchain that's bringing true utility to tokens!


What are your initial impressions of RCs?

Sort:  

I think in the end the RCs make a lot of sense. The big problem was I don't think it was really articulated well. That's okay, we are still so early in the growth of this platform. There will be speed bumps along the way but I remain extremely positive.

I agree, the value of RCs wasn't well articulated but that's understandable. It's a tough concept to grasp when there is no physical manifestation yet. Now that RCs are operational, the whole idea makes far more sense to me: RCs will be one of the main reasons for buying and vesting STEEM which will drive massive value to the STEEM token and surrounding ecosystem of DApps.

I'm sure you've heard the adage, 'put your money where your mouth is' ?

That's what RCs will bring to the Steem blockchain. All the small s users will learn to either buy Steempower or power up what they earn. Most never think of the platforms they operate on. But I feel this will make them utilize their resources better than before.

And just to add buddy, I've been so off I'm not aware of recent developments. How is it going with your real estate planning?

Yes, I've heard that. I think it's a definite positive for the platform as a whole. It's already very obvious that it's working to cut back on spam.. There are so many less fake bot comments than before!!! I'm really happy about that.

RCs provide a nice barrier to entry to using the blockchain. If the barrier is too low, then people will abuse the system - as we've seen in the past. RCs make this blockchain a lot more scalable in the future.

Future projects on the Steem blockchain will need RCs to run their DApp and that's going to drive massive value to the STEEM token.

Real estate is going well, I've kept my head down and working on it for the past few months, but I've also been able to enjoy a needed vacation to Europe about 2 weeks ago! How are things with you my man?

seems like a good idea, only been on steem a couple of days, working well for me so far, not much of an issue in my opinion. Great Post, only time will tell.

the way they did it at the beginning when they call it a "success" my impressions were literally that of disappointment! Later one i saw that basically all the newbies couldn't even make a comment and thus i felt like disaster hit us.

Thankfully with all the fuzz literally from everyone that could make a post or comment :P they made an update in which they game everybody many times more RC and thus everybody even new members could cast upvotes and comments.

So now i am really interested to see what lies ahead!

You got a 85.05% upvote from @upme thanks to @khaleelkazi! Send at least 3 SBD or 3 STEEM to get upvote for next round. Delegate STEEM POWER and start earning 100% from your share, daily payouts ( no commission ).
Quick delegation links: 25SP | 50SP | 100SP | 250SP | 500SP | 1000SP | 2000SP | 5000SP | Custom Amount

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60913.71
ETH 2919.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71