Ride-along to my journey of learning to code.

in #blog5 years ago

Copy of Copy of Copy of From.png

Introduction

To start out, a little something about me for context. Currently 25 years old, I dropped out of school at the age of 16 and started to work full time. For the most part of the time, I was working in hospitality and working odd jobs until I moved to Vietnam to teach English last year. For a more elaborate introduction, you can check out this - https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@kruzins/how-s-it-going-steemit-first-post-alert

Around a year ago I started to dabble into programming and I got instantly hooked. Not long after that, I made a decision that I will make a career change and seek employment in the technology industry. It seemed logical because of my love to create, solve problems and tinker with things. Excitement grew and I got ready for the journey.

After several nights of watching inspirational Youtube videos, where "regular" people with no tech background taught themselves to code in X months and were employed with a six-figure salary, I was hyped. If they can do it, I can do it too. In a very naive manner, I assumed that it will be easy.

Oh boy, I was wrong...

Okay, where do I start? What language should I learn? Frameworks, what are those? What kind of developer would I like to be? Do I want to make web pages, blockchains, operating systems, compilers, web apps, embedded systems, work in data science, machine learning, computer vision? Honestly, I did not even know what half of those things meant, but it all sounded so luring yet intimidating.

I started out by learning Python, as it got suggested to me by several people and it has a reputation for being very beginner-friendly. The very beginning everything was going smooth, until more complicated where I started to doubt my self proclaimed intelligence. The more I learned, the more I realized that this will not be this easy thing that I will just pull off. I needed more foundational knowledge of how computers work if I would like to really learn something. So I dropped learning Python and took the very highly regarded CS50 from Harvard University ( edX is a bloody brilliant resource). And it was a great and very rewarding course to finish. Also, I found it very hard and felt stupid once again.

Now, a year later the feeling of being stupid is still here, but I have grown to be used to it. I never returned to Python(I still plan to learn it) and set my eye for a role in Web Development. Some of the reasons being - job availability, an abundance of resources and the relatively low entry barrier for new developers. I have a decent understanding of HTML, CSS, and JavaScript and I more or less know what I am doing. I am familiar with Node and React and how API's work. But I haven't made nearly enough projects to showcase to potential employers, I still have quite a few gaps in my knowledge and I do not feel ready at all.

Since I am moving back to Europe in three months and I do not have a job lined up, I have decided to take this time to build a portfolio, establish a deeper understanding of the design, development, and deployment processes. My goal is to find work within a month of getting there ( I know, very optimistic) and being able to support myself solely from this.

Then we come to the purpose of this post. For the next three months, I will post twice a week about my progress, insights, and frustrations. I will also attempt to explain some concepts that I learn. Not because I think that I am competent to teach someone else, but to crystalize my own knowledge.

Have a good day guys and keep griding!

Sort:  

Teaching is often the best way to actually retain new knowledge.
I admire your pluck and I can do it attitude. The doubts are natural. We all must suck at a thing we are learning before we don’t.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks, appreciate your kind words!
Totally, just now instead of being scared of the "I suck" feeling, I try to embrace it!

‘Embarace your Suck’. Sounds a great bumper sticker 😂

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations @kruzins! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62623.58
ETH 3021.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72