The kids made us do it

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

"To live will be an awfully big adventure"
-Peter Pan

When I got pregnant with our first son we had some people telling us about how our life would be changed and we wouldn’t be able to do things that we loved doing. Luckily Josh and I laughed that off and never actually bought into it. Why do people think this is a helpful thing to say to someone? I have no clue!

What I have learned is that it is all about how you choose to live your life. Honestly, I give the credit to our children for how we live our life now. Having them really got us thinking about what was important to us and how we wanted our kids to grow up. The underlying theme seems to be that we want them to know they can do absolutely anything and that they actually have a huge part in the world they live in. They can be adventurers, word changers, and amazing loving people in their community. They can live in the same place their entire lives if they want, or they could live in a different town or country every month if they desire. The possibilities are ENDLESS.

Everything does cost more now that we have children. If we want to fly somewhere the cost of tickets are doubled. We haven’t done a ton of flying with the kids because of that reason. I do want to plan a month long trip to Thailand or somewhere amazing with them within the next couple of years. Until then we will probably stick to traveling mainly in the USA (but who knows where we will end up).

Don’t let having kids hold you back from living out your dreams. Living out or dreams with our children is one of the most rewarding things.

Screen Shot 2017-12-21 at 11.04.22 AM.png
Screen Shot 2017-12-21 at 11.05.23 AM.pngScreen Shot 2017-12-21 at 11.06.12 AM.pngIMG_0893.jpgIMG_1082.jpgIMG_0995.jpgScreen Shot 2017-12-21 at 11.06.41 AM.png

Sort:  

I totally agree. I backpacked around the world with my 5 year old, on my own. People were gob smacked but having her for company made it easier. In fact I met my partner of 25 years in a hostel in Fiji because of my daughter.

She missed the first year of school but travelling was a much better education, in my opinion.

That is amazing! What an awesome experience to have with your child :D

So true! We are living our grand adventure in the Ozarks building up a land from scratch, to a fruitful homestead. Traveling is something we have considered as a family. Perhaps later. Are you traveling the US in a motorhome?

Wow that is amazing! We actually aren't traveling in our motorhome. It is a trailer and we don't even own a vehicle large enough to move it haha. We just just get out and explore with our kids when we can or desire. Living in our airstream save us money so we can say yes to more experiences with them.

I am inspired to follow your journey! As someone who homeschooled both of her sons all of the way through school, I can say it is the journey of a lifetime!

Nice to meet you :D Thank you for following. We are discussing the option of homeschooling for this next school year. I never thought I would homeschool my boys, but there are way too many things I want to experience with them that I think it is probably the best option.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 65955.88
ETH 3055.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69