Cheesy Valentines

in #blog6 years ago

IMG_5404.JPG

Valentines Day! A day to show a little extra love to that special someone.

For Valentine’s Day my boyfriend Guy surprised me by taking me to the Grand Central Market inside of Grand Central Station to buy some cheese. I go to the station everyday to hop on the subway and never knew there was a market inside. It’s a very beautiful market with two rows of shops lining the walls where you can buy various goods from fish, spices, and sauces. Surprisingly it wasn’t too busy which is nice because going to the market in New York is an ordeal. I usually have to set a few hours aside to shop and wait in a long line to purchase my goods. Now that I’ve learned about this place it’ll be so much easier for me to pop by and grab a little extra item here and there for our wine and cheese nights.

IMG_5384.JPG

IMG_5386.JPG

IMG_5381.JPG

I’m a cheese addict and nothing makes my night better than some cheese, cured meat,wine and a good movie. I’m constantly buying new cheese and never really paying attention to what I eat so it’s hard for me to find the one I like again. Thankfully there are places that solve all those problems for me with a cheese sampling service! So we went to Murray’s Cheese which has been around since 1940 I got to try all sorts of different cheeses to eat for the night.

IMG_5362.JPG

IMG_5405.JPG

The winners were:

  • 1 Year Manchego - This was amazing, I had this before and couldn’t remember the name, but when I saw it I knew this was what I was looking for. It’s a moist hard cheese with a
  • Moliterno Al Tartufo - Truffle anything is good, but this cheese was a whole other level. It just oozed with truffle flavor even touching the cheese your hands would get extremely oily.
  • Oma - A nice really funky creamy cheese that has the same consistency as brie

Afterwards we went to go buy some crackers and meat to accompany the cheese.

IMG_5376.JPG

IMG_5374.JPG

Once we got home I prepared a cheese board to snack on while we worked on dinner. We’ve just started subscribing to Hello Fresh for our weekly dinner delivery service. It’s nice because groceries arrive once a week in the portions we need to cook our pre planned meals and we don’t have to think about anything.

IMG_5391.JPG

IMG_5393.JPG

On today’s menu, pork with baked potatoes and zucchini. It was really fun cooking together and enjoying our food after. For dessert Guy surprised with a box of chocolates. Perfect way to end the eve.

Happy Valentines Day Everyone


Thanks for enjoying A Day in My Life!
See you again another day

Xoxo SteemIt - Lilan

IMG_5406.jpg


For more travel stories and photography follow
@Lalilands


Instagram:Lalilands



IMG_5403.jpg

39B86BB8-19C7-453F-8D6C-05D06324EDFC.jpg

Sort:  

Oh this was wonderful. Love the pics and wish cheese choices like this were so close to hand.

Yea there are so many different types of cheeses ! I had no idea. Definitly ecstatic to try some new ones 😊

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66167.71
ETH 3014.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73