Why I Haven't Been Writing on Steemit

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

IMG_6296.PNG

First of all, does anyone really care that I haven't been writing on Steemit?

Not sure.

I sometimes talk trash about my Wordpress blog and how I haven't been able to monetize much on there, but one thing I have on there for sure: there is a sense of community. I post something, and people immediately comment. It's definitely something I find satisfying about my Wordpress blog.

So does anyone care that I haven't been writing on here? My sense is no. @Steemit does not yet have that feeling of community that is derived from having a blog on a really niche topic.

But I'll address this since one or two of you may be wondering.

So where have I been?

First, I've been writing more on my Wordpress blog. I can't let that platform die on the vine. I have people who have followed me specifically for the things I have to share on there and I don't want to let them down. So I've tried to keep writing some here and there. Also, I do eventually want to create some books that I'll sell from there using the MichaelHyatt.com model.

Second, I've been finishing a doctoral dissertation. This thing has been so much work. Academic writing is hard. No doubt about that. Blog writing? I could do this stuff all day long. But academic writing? It takes me about 5 hours to write a paragraph.

The good news is that the first two chapters of my dissertation have been approved and I've started my third chapter. I have a total of five chapters I need to write.

I'll be starting a 10 week paid sabbatical the second week of June, and my goal is to have the dissertation submitted by that time, so, yes, I've been hustling hard to get things done as quickly as I can.

I'm up by 6 am. I spend time with God. I have breakfast with the family at 7 am and help get the kids ready for school. At 8 am, when everyone leaves, that's when I head to my home office and start my writing until lunch time. After lunch, I focus on my church work in the afternoon and evening.

It's hard, grueling work for me, but I'm seeing the light at the end of the tunnel.

So that's it! That's why I haven't been writing more on here. Just thought I'd share a personal update in case anyone out there is listening.

So what about you? How have you been? What's going on in your life?

[image by Kelly Sikkema]

Sort:  

Hey man, welcome back? :) You were on my mental list of people to check in with, glad to see you've resurfaced. Seems like your mini-hiatus can be summed up in one word: priorities. For what it's worth (and at the risk of upsetting the steemit gods) I think you've chosen well...

Life is good here in SE Asia. @suitcasemama and I are preparing our souls for a 25 hour journey back to the States with a 21 month old toddler.

Pray.
For.
Us!

Thank you :) I'm glad to have chosen well. Wow, I'll certainly be praying for you all. I've never made such a long trip with my boys when they were younger. How long will you be back in the states? And where will you be hanging?

We're headed to DC for about two weeks, then stopping near LA for Easter to spend some time with the family. We've done long trips with the little guy before, but he's especially antsy/mobile these days. Our second leg is almost 15 hours. Straight. Looking forward to being there, just not necessarily to getting there :)

The way I understand it there was more of a community feel when it first started. Now it has grown so big that there is just too much content out there for people to sift through. Unless there was a way to bring your existing followers over to Steemit... I thought there was a connector between WordPress and Steemit that you might want to double check on. Steempress maybe?

Yeah, there are ways to do that. And I have pretty decent numbers on Twitter and Facebook, but I'm keeping those these two worlds separate. I'm essentially blogging anonymously on here so I can feel free to share. I get into all the reasons why in this post.

Nice one.could not agree with you more. Steemit has been boring these days as folks don't seem to read their feeds or curate much since whales have turned it into a bot money making machine . However , folks like us will never give up hoping things turn around.
I admire you for being deep into your desertation and being a family man with kids. You are way ahead as I just got married and my wife and I plan to start our PhD stress winter if next year but as people of fate we believing God for fully funded scholarship being that times are hard from where we come from.
Quite inspiring to read this. Tks for sharing a d hope you may have some good tips for us. 😋

Yup. That's why I don't randomly follow people on here. If I follow someone, it's because I do want to stay in touch and I do read my feed.

Glad to hear you and your wife are starting some PhD's! Very cool. What will you be studying?

I am looking at strategic management as I have my msc in Human Resource Mgt
My wife has her msc in maths and looking at same for PhD.
Following you to keep in touch 💪👆

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

I'm actually not sure what to think about this. But thanks for now, I suppose.

That's kinda neat actually. I like how it seems to keep the intonations correct.

Congrats on getting those first two chapters approved!

The good news is that the first two chapters of my dissertation have been approved and I've started my third chapter.

Man, this was really huge. So grateful!

I have been wondering! Glad all is well and moving forward, and congrats on the two chapters!!

Welcome and let's keep in touch

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62414.94
ETH 3019.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58