You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Living with a Chronic Illness - Chronic Depression

in #blog6 years ago

This is a very interesting article, thank you for sharing.
Chronic illness, be it a mainly-physical one or a mainly-mental one (because everything is affected, no matter where it's coming from), sucks. That sums up much of what I say these days.
I suffer from Rheumatoid Arthritis, and my main manifestations on regular days are simply fatigue and back pains, with some crises at certain times of the year (winter) or whenever I'm super-stressed.
One of the main problems I've had with my own disease is actually acknowledging it. I knew I suffered from symptoms since I was about 17 years old, but as the doctors and the people who are supposed to keep me healthy told me I was "faking it" or "exaggerating" or other, similar things, I had to believe I was healthy, right? Wrong. But I did. And I kept going. And what my disease got worse, and I was finally diagnosed after 17 years of displaying symptoms that should have raised a red flag (but didn't), everyone's pissed off at me for trying to continue living my life as I did thus far.
It's hard to acknowledge that you have an illness. It's even harder to grasp that it's never going away, no matter what you do, and you have to learn what to do or to avoid doing in order to stay relatively well.
I hope this works for you :-)

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing. And I hope it works out for you as well!

This is one of the reasons I don't say "X is better/worse than Y," because I didn't get used to doing all those things without the disease, as it hovered there all my life. So I didn't have to learn I can no longer do things I could prior. Just to accept that I can do what I can do.

And here's we all learn that, whether sick or not.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63748.21
ETH 3314.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90