Blog 6-8-18 Passiflora incarnata "May-pops"

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

Today has been eventful. I went to the home depot and got a bunch of plants, some fertilizer, mulch and compost. I spread the compost out and added the fertilizer, which is made from feather meal, bone meal, fish meal, alfalfa meal and a whole bunch of other goodies like beneficial microorganisms. I also put in some pearlite to improve the soil as well as some silica water crystals to help keep it moist in the soil. Mixed them all up and watered it in with a light fertilizer spray. Now I am going to have to wait to plant my peppers and tomatoes and herbs until Sunday. I dont have time to do it tomorrow, and it's a plus since the soil needs the rest before we start planting. It is good for soil to resettle after being heavily aerated before putting plants in. It's funny, like I almost planned it out that way, but I did no such thing. I have some cuttings that I rooted from my purple passion flower vine that I am going to plant in my garden as well. They spread a lot, but I cant help myself. A native plant that is beautiful and amazing. Such exotic, dainty flowers for a very hardy vine. I dont have any flowers right now, but I do have some fruit ripening on mama. They are also called maypops, and make a very relaxing tea. It is always better to plant native plants when possible. They are usually more resilient to disease, pests and the local climate. It is also important not to use invasive species, that can spread and take over the habitat of the local flora. Often invasive species might not have anything that wants to eat it to keep it in check in the local ecology. The smallest actions that we take, can have the largest consequences when dealing with the balance of nature. Humans have become far removed from their connection to Earth, and it is something that is changing rapidly. I can only hope to help charge and facilitate that transition. <3 <3 <3

34825381_10212095114723654_4850213632870449152_n.jpg
Passiflora incarnata "May-pops"

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66530.34
ETH 3251.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.36