The Problems With The Majority And Our Schools

in #blog6 years ago

The Problems With The Majority 

This is going to be a short post with a recent event that happened to me during school hours.

I was sitting in the classroom, and the teacher tells us that we're going to start reading a new book. She walked around and handed them out to everyone. I looked at the cover and began reading. After reading a couple of pages i gave up, this wasn't a book i was going to enjoy reading. So, i started reading my own book on my computer that i actually enjoyed because i was bored.

After about 10 minutes my teacher walks up to me and looks at me. And she asks. "Why aren't you reading this book?". I answer "because i think it's boring, i'd rather read my own book." 

What she said next i will always remember. "How will your future look if you can't even read this book?".

What angered me is the fact that in her sentence, it felt like she meant something like "how will your future look if you don't get the best grades in school?". From what i'm told, and from what i've learned, success and a good future has little to do with school. What made me think a lot about this is the fact that the majority thinks this way, that if you can't read a book and get good grades in school, you wont get anywhere in life.

I think it's pathetic, because i know, that my future has nothing to do with this book or even the grades i get in school. My future is based on the decisions i make, and how much work i'm willing to put through with to reach the future for which i'm satisfied with.

Don't be like the majority.

@lillieskold






Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60955.99
ETH 2884.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63