Understanding My Sins: Introduction

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

I've never considered myself a strictly religious man, though religion and faith have always fascinated me immensely. There has seldom been a moment when I didn't think they were impossibly important aspects to humanity as a whole, to civilisation, and right down to the individual experience. I have, however, always leaned towards psychological studies, the human mind and consciousness, thought and factors that create action. The human experience, to put it simply. This is why I've taken to identifying my personal faults, or 'failings' through the means of Sin.

The concept of Sin can often be interpreted in a variety of ways. To some it is the failure to correctly fulfil the moral obligations bestowed upon people by God, to others it can mean to commit an action contradictory to the laws of God - which one might argue are the same thing. However, regardless of how you interpret the moral implications of Sin, it's important to recognise the linguistic meaning. To Sin is to 'miss the mark' and/or 'failure'. This is important because it implies that there is a target to hit in the first place, or somewhere to end up, something to achieve and reach. Which is interesting because I have little idea as to where that target might be. Sure, there are moral targets and ethical targets, ideological targets, career targets, even targets we can strive to hit as a whole. But what about personal targets that serve to better the individual? What am I trying to hit exactly? Where am I aiming? Well, bugger if I know. That's a couple of really difficult questions. After hearing a series of lectures by Professor Jordan B. Peterson, a clinical psychologist, I came to the essential conclusion that it would be easier to identify, first and foremost, where I was standing. I suppose you can only know your target if you know where you are in relation to that target.

Coming to terms with the notion that I even have a grand Sin, or failing, was easier than I thought. It had been self-evident for years, only it had no name. Now I call it Sloth. So I suppose one of the reasons for this journey, so to speak, is to identify through each Cardinal Sin how I've failed myself and in turn the immediate world around me. Then to rectify those Sins and harness the potential for Good that comes with it. I would encourage the readers to do the same, to join me on this journey. Though I should note that this isn't really a religious journey or one of spiritual purity, it's a project of self-betterment and improvement. How many of us are truly all we can be? I'd argue very, very few, if any at all.

With that in mind, I will pose the question that started the illumination of this idea and the inauguration of a new dawn: What is your greatest Sin?

Sort:  

Congratulations @lorvain! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Semi Finals - Day 1


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62613.51
ETH 3019.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93