A New Chinese-Filipino Restaurant in Oroquieta City, Philippines

in #blog6 years ago (edited)


There is a newly opened restaurant in Oroquieta City. Hooray!

30425133_1855842067801448_2352101856720946335_o (1).jpg

Oroquieta City is the nearest city from my town, which is Lopez Jaena in Misamis Occidental province, Philippines. It is about 30-45 minutes ride by jeepney or 20 minutes by bus. This city has become more and more booming in the recent years... bigger establishments like stores and hotels, outdoor recreation such as beaches, zip line, and others, also more a bit fancy restaurants.

Mid last year, Yang Chow restaurant was born. It's a Chinese restaurant but with the Filipino taste of some dishes. They incorporated the dishes of Chinese and Filipino cuisines. This restaurant is basically found in the heart of the city and can easily be found if you want to visit the place.

yang chow.png

As of the menu, in my opinion, they've got really interesting dishes since I have never tried authentic Chinese dishes.


Source

You can see the variety of dishes that they can serve to the customers. Most of the dishes presented on the menu are very new to me and I would really like to try them. The beef broccoli dish caught my attention when I was checking out this menu months before because it's really salivating and deliciously looking that is laid on the plate and I love eating broccoli for your information.


Source

Two weeks ago, my Mama and I decided to go to the city to buy some of the things that we need for my grandfather's birthday. But because I woke up late that I wasn't able to even have a nibble of my breakfast when we left home. When we arrived at the city, we were supposed to have our meal at Jollibee but I suggested to try a new eating place which is the Yang Chow restaurant.

30425708_1855841917801463_4811036681921006407_o.jpg

It isn't that huge but it's not that small either. It's just enough for a city-like-town area, as Oroquieta city doesn't seem like a city probably because it has a commodious population. Also, this is the reason why the economic development of the city is not fast-growing compared to other cities, as a result, fewer jobs and slow economic growth.

We chose to sit at a table nearby the doorway because we don't like sitting anywhere further from the door or somewhere very visible to everyone. I noticed some condiments on the table, a bottle of soy sauce and the other one that looks like hoisin sauce with chili sauce. I didn't taste it but I checked the container. There was also a book-like menu on the table so we tried to check but failed to choose. There were too many dishes that it's difficult to decide. At last, we ordered two budget meals since it should be enough.

30420278_1855842231134765_1884417937064700546_o.jpg

I've almost finished it because I was very hungry and our orders weren't served yet.

While waiting for our orders, we were served with the crunchy Chinese chicharon and a sharp-tasting sauce that I really approved but my Mama didn't.

30167832_1855842411134747_5479302493055841915_o.jpg

The budget meal that we ordered that was worth 99 PHP (1.98 USD), was with a cup of rice, Lechon kawali (deep fried pork belly) and a mid-sized glass of iced tea. Lechon Kawali is a deep-fried pork belly and is Filipino cuisine. Filipino people love to eat meat as well as fried food. The Lechon kawali was tender on the inside and crunchy on the outside. It was perfectly fried.

30171577_1855842627801392_8646306946804414655_o.jpg

I also ordered this deliciously looking Chinese siomai. It's about 78 PHP (1.56 USD) for three pieces. It is stuffed with pork, shrimp and other ingredients which I can't really figure out what were those. It didn't taste shrimpy at all but definitely meaty. It was really good. My Mama liked it a lot. Siomai, by the way, is quite popular in the Philippines but the usual one you can see anywhere in the cities is the small, white dough siomai that's really cheap. I love dipping it in a spicy chili sauce. These siomais that they have served were a bit bigger and tastier than the one I always eat.

30425407_1855842147801440_4947396534019904235_o.jpg

Buko Pandan salad is the dessert that we ordered. It looks appetizing in the picture so I said: "Give me this." It was around 60 PHP (1.2 USD) per serve. The serving amount was just okay for me, I nearly couldn't fit it in my stomach because I was full. Buko Pandan salad is a cold and creamy Filipino dessert that can satisfy everyone, especially on a very hot summer day. The ingredients are cream, condensed milk, young coconut, Pandan leaves (a green, tropical plant), sugar and gelatin.

It was really a scrumptious meal. I enjoyed the food as well as the vibrant of that comfortable place. I will come back soon since I haven't tried the other dishes, especially the beef with broccoli.

However, one thing I can say that is a downside to this new restaurant is their service. There is no problem with getting the order and being welcoming to the customers but the serving of the food was lengthy. There were just me and my mother when we arrived so they should not be very busy but it took them some time to serve the food. Well, I hope they can have a better time management in serving their customers to get a better service satisfaction.



That's all for today's blog.



Note: All pictures used without sources provided are taken by @loudetteiam


Spread "LOVE"!



Loving you all, Steemians.

Loudette

Sort:  

Ohhh I love chinese food being of Chinese ancestry on my Mother side hahahahaha so a bit biased.

Everything looks yummy. Mayve the reason is they are all preparing it haha

Haha! That's so biased. I think Chinese cuisine tastes interesting. I will try other Chinese dishes. I have been wanting to try hotpot but there isn't in my town. :-(

Probably right. Hahaha!

This post made me soo hungry! haha Everything looks delicious. The Chinese Siomai looks really good, I've never tried it before (I think). It's always such a nice thing to try new places and restaurants :)

You should, Juli. It's really good. It's my first time also and I'm loving it. I'd love to try other Chinese cuisines. Actually, my students me told that there are 8 cuisines in China.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by loudetteiam from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69788.22
ETH 3727.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75