How will Dissenter affect steemit and blockchain social media?

in #blog5 years ago

If you don't already know, dissenter is part of Gab.com - twatter for grown ups.

I joined a couple of days ago - and have been spending more time there than here, it has that 'fun feel' like steemit used to have.

But this is about 'dissenter', not gab.com

What is it? - it's a browser extension that lets you comment on anything. Anything with a URL..

snap (3).jpg

Any media that doesn't allow comments (BBC, Guardian, NY times, etc)- you can create your own comment feed on dissenter, thus bypassing censorship and having a voice. It's fantastic!
(it must be... the MSM hate it).

Then my thoughts turned to steemit and dissenter - because the same rules apply here.

One of my annoyances about steemit not growing very fast, was lack of audience. Not for the rewards on the finaical instrument that is steem is, but for exposure.

I want people to read my stuff!

Dissenter allows people to do just that. They do not need to join- or invest any $.

Their RC's will never run out, thus avoiding any censorship through lack of resources.

This could give steemit a lot more exposure.

I can take any post - not just my own, - and post it on dissenter for a much larger audience to engage with..
How cool is that?

Dissenter is winner of an idea! (but we have smt's, so its ok.....oh...no we don't..)

This might make steem(it) less attractive...Why would you pay to post, when you don't need to?

and just to prove my point....

snap (3).jpg

Steemit certainly can't be sold on high quality, or exclusive content - not any more . The quality had gone down and down, this last 12 months - and I see no evidence of it changing direction.
(with the exception of some creators still tryin'...)

As steem big stake holders love to remind the quality content creators - the market decides quality and value - and yeah - it does - in a free market.
Steem isn't that.

What will be interesting, as dissenter grows - and I start opening my own posts up there - is to see just how many up votes I get.....(hard for some people to understand - no money involved or financial instruments used).
Dissenter is open with it's information - more so than steemit it seems.

I'm confident of my own abilities . (as lacking as I know they are, in some areas)

I think my value here is underrated (using upvotes as the metric)these are not just my own thoughts - but more than a few comments received, expressing this very sentiment..And now I think know why....
The pesky manipulators of men who prefer power rather than letting merit decide.
Little people.
Small individuals with agenda's.
And lets not forget the sheep that follow their lead.

I need time to think it through - and experiment with dissenter some more... but something has started to ferment over this last few days about this whole 'value on steem' and content creators.....

Philosophical question for ya!:

If you are participating in a corrupt system - is it ethical to use that system against itself, to profit ?

snap (3).jpg

Corrupt is corrupt, is it not?

You can't more corrupt it? In the world of corruption, Universal Preferable Behavior has left the building.(in fairness, it was never here).

Which, ultimatley makes is a 'dog eat dog', free for all...code is law...
'Ethical behavior' becomes just a glib one liner -in a defense of those in power, to maintain the status quo.

Imagine a whole world now being able to observe, comment freely and participate? - on all the crap that goes on here...

I don't find this a remotely negative proposition. ...
Do you?
Some people might be feeling very afraid right now..I think it's exciting.....and has so much potential..

'Pay to speak' on steemit - has just evaporated....

Sort:  

I'm presently unable to use Dissenter, but hope that will soon change. I expect when they release their own browser at the latest. As to the ethics of posting there regarding your posting here, I don't see that as problematic, at least not for me. Press is good press, so they say. Since I'm not here for ducats, wherever free speech appears, and the more of it that does, the better off I am where that is happening.

I say full steem ahead matey!

I'm absolutely in line with your own perspective..

What browser are you one? (firefox here). I had no probs - after the daylong attack on the site, ceased. lol

'Pay to speak' on steemit - has just evaporated....
Maybe that's a good thing, I have been using dissenter too. One thing that is lacking on steemit is critical comments. Its all people trying to be nice to each other for more followers and up votes.

Steemit is an incentive for "acceptable" speech, if you want to get dollars.

Sycophanticy, and myself, are not good friends. (if that's a word)

....follow my latest fiction posts...I think you'll get it..

dtube intro here, and posted chapter 1 and 2 so far..

ill check it out

followed, btw! - I'm not being sycophantic, honest...

I get it, let the uncuckening commence!

Steem doesn't have SMT's yet but it does have a new tokens market https://steem-engine.com/?p=tokens
I think there's a lot of good quality here, it just takes time to find it. Steemit is far from perfect but it isn't the only option with Steem. I use @partiko on my phone and I really like it. There's lots of ways to grow your Steem now. I'm making some with Actifit, Steem Monsters and Drug Wars. I'm sure there will be many more great dapps in the future.

It can't be good using steemit if you have no money to buy a bit of steem but this still feels like early days and I'm sure things are going to change in the future. Everything is changing here so fast now, its almost impossible to keep up with it. Every problem I've seen is being worked on by somebody here and if Steemit Inc can't deliver, someone else will.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63071.06
ETH 3121.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84