'No good deed goes unpunished..' - Prelude to the Red Pill..

in #blog6 years ago

............I said the to myself sarcastically as I lay there, slowly rotting in the police cells....

nsw.jpg

OK, maybe 'slowly rotting in the police cells' is putting it a tad too dramatically – BUT I had been in there for over an hour , and I was like, getting really bored.
There was no TV or anything!

There was a 'no smoking' ban and they ha took my cigarettes off me, which struck me as a little crazy.
The first time ever being arrested, and then locked up- with no bloody cigarettes.
It's a stressful experience being locked up in a cell.
You could really do with a smoke!

In fairness, they did have a small open air compound where you could have a cigarette- but you had to bang on the cell door, and ask for 'permission' to go, and then a police officer would stay with you until you finished your cancer stick.
They were very busy in the station, though as it was around 10pm on a Saturday night).
They got very rude to me, when I banged on the door for the third time that hour, asking for yet another 'cigarette break'.
(If I'd had my cigarettes and lighter on me, I would have lit up in the cells. What were they gonna do? Arrest me?)

You might be wondering just how I had gotten my self into this cell rotting, nicotine starved environment? I'll tell you.
(If you are not wondering by now - why not?).

bbt.jpg

Friendship. And loyalty to friends. That's the reason.

Doing the right thing by my friends...
That was the reason I was here..

Well not the reason precisely, but definitely the main contributing factor...

We (me and my girlfriend) had driven up from London to see a friend of mine.

I 'had a thing' going for a month or three with my friend, a long time ago, and we good friends, just not 'couple material'.
'Fuck buddies', was the term she used.
I then started seeing my girlfriend - and we all ended up being very good friends.

My friend had been in dire financial difficulties after finishing university, and we had helped her out in a big way, to get out of the debt in which she found herself.
After 12 months her education millstone around her neck was gone, and she was free!
Happy days.

She moved 200 miles away from London for work, and we hadn't seen her in over a year, and so we decided to go and pay her a visit.
She said she had met this guy as well and was really very happy about life, in general.
More happy days, right?

....Yeah, right....

Her new boyfriend turned out to be the biggest, most insecure jackass that I had ever met in my life.
(and I have met some pretty big jackasses).

He knew that 'we had a thing' going from a couple of years back.
He knew it was nothing any more.

He hated my guts for it.... And that's being nice ...

He scowled at me, gave me nothing but smart arse remarks in every conversation -and was basically an all round childish twat.
But I refused to rise to the bait for my mates sake – I didn't want to create an awkward situation.
(She was very aware of his wankerish- ness towards me and was noticeably embarrassed).

So we decided to go to a bar just to get away from the 'living room intimacy atmosphere' in her apartment.

Now I have to say, that I don't behave very well around twats in general, and when I have some alcohol in me, even less so.
Oops.
EVEN then, because of my affection for my old friend, I just avoided being around him in the bar.
( this in itself, is an act of self discipline nearly unknown to me.)

bbt.jpg

The pool table is always a good distraction in these circumstances, so off I toddled with my girlfriend, to play a few games...
As often happens around a pool table, money on games started appearing , and it just so happened that I was on form that afternoon, and was pocketing a few dollars while I played.
(we were in the UK using pounds, but I'll keep it in dollars).

The next guy game up and slapped his 5 dollars on the table, and offered to play me.
....It went dark at that point, due his enormous bulk blanking out all the lights in the bar.

He was 260 pounds and big.
Never one one to be intimated by bears much, we got down to playing some pool.
I won.
He was really crap.

“Cheers for the game, mate," I said jovially. ( I am a jovial kinda guy when not in the company of twats).

“Where's my change?” The bear said to me.

“Uh?” Said I.
“I gave you a ten, the game was for five, gimme my change,” Replied Mr bear.
He hadn't put down a ten, it was a five.
I knew this.
He knew this.
The people around the table also knew this.
Anyone who has been in similar situation knows exactly what I mean when I say 'the mood just dropped'.

'Ah bollocks', I though to myself.
I didn't want to have a bad time, and I didn't want to cause any trouble with my friend that we had come to visit.
(it was her local bar).

“ There you go mate, here's ya money,” I said, passing him back MY five dollars that he had just lost to me.

“It wasn't a ten, it was a twenty, ” He said.

' Ah, double bollocks', I thought - now he's really taking the piss..

My decision to not cause trouble in the bar, now took a back seat....
The people around the pool table People were very uncomfortable.
....They could all see what was happening, but nobody was very vocal in support of me not getting robbed.
Fair enough, I didn't know them.

....My girlfriend had grabbed a pool cue.

He lumbered round the pool table in my direction, causing some mini earthquakes while doing so.

bbt.jpg

I estimated that if I jumped really, realllllllly high, I might just be able to head butt him him in the balls. (Did I mention he was huge?).

Closer......good. Close was good.

A serious smack in the gonads, and pool cue on the back of his head from my strategically placed girlfriend should do the trick.
I was thinking a tactical withdrawal after the initial strike. As a strategy hit and run seemed best - and definitely not a war of attrition.
He could carry on fighting for months without even eating, judging by his fat reserves.

It also meant that he probably couldn't run very fast. - not with painful balls and head that had just been hit with pool cue....
Closer....The time was upon me. Kick and run or death by bear hug...

.....He started laughing.
WTF!!!!!
I was NOT laughing.

Massive doses of adrenaline pumped rapidly into your bloodstream just seems to zap that of sense of humor right out of ya!
“Your face,” Mr. Bear says to me, “I wasn't gonna do anything, I'm only joking with ya, mate.”
Everyone's faces around the pool table were looking just like I felt.

“What the fuck is so funny about that, you stupid fucking prick?” I shouted.

Now I was thinking of just hitting him in the balls anyway - to make me feel better...
But no, I didn't' ...No real harm done except killing of a good mood around the pool table.

…...At which point, the insecure twat known as my friends new boyfriend, comes over and slaps me on the back.
He was laughing also.
“That was hilarious," He said, " I just put him (the bear) up to do it, sorry."

He seemed to be sorry in the same way that a hungry killer whale is sorry for eating a seal...

My girlfriend could see my face. She knew that face. She came between us very quickly.
My friend of old also knew that look on my face.

She came over and smacked her new boyfriend hard around his face.
This was followed with some very eloquent expletives from her, describing his behavior with us since we had arrived many hours earlier..

“I'm so, so, sorry babes, guys. ..shit..” She said to us...
.
“I'm outta here, speak later's, ” I said. I was way too wound up at this point to even be there.

And with that, we headed for the car, to go find a hotel to check into.
The plan of staying with our friend that night at her apartment, and partying into the early hours - seemed a little distant now..
We knew of a hotel only three or four miles away, and so we headed there.
Two miles down the road, I noticed a police car behind me.
Shit.

nsw.jpg

I pulled down off a side street. and doubled back onto the main road five minutes later.( I was definitely over the legal alcohol limit).
The police car was there, waiting for me.
Bollocks!
I had no insurance, and they must have run a check....

…...and that is why I ended up in the cells for the first time in my life...

The night in cells wasn't all bad, though, as it turned out...

Being a Saturday night, there wasn't enough room for one person one cell, so they threw this very cool guy in with me.
They didn't search him too well though..
When they let us out in the morning, we were 'flying' from sniffing all the coke he had hidden away on him, that they had missed.

Gotta look on the bright side, eh?

This all happened way before my 'red pill' moment. that was years later, but it DID tickle my awareness of 'the way things are', somewhere deep inside my gray matter.

I appeared in court a couple of months later. I received a 12 month driving ban, which I found bizarre.
How could they enforce a ban on me, without 24 hour surveillance?
As it turned out, I kept driving and they must never have had surveillance on me - so it was all good!
(This also meant I couldn't get insurance, because i had no license!).

They fined me (off memory), something like $130 dollars for the offense of drink driving.

They fined me over two thousand dollars for the lack of insurance.

They were far more pissed off about me not giving the insurance company my money, than anything else...mmm....it got me thinking about this whole 'legal system', that's for sure.

Part of my defense for needing to keep my driving license was for my job. You know, my income. At the time I was making DVD films and doing model shoots all over the UK. At least 2 times a week - every single week.

Transport was on the essential side, of important.

nsw.jpg

When I explained the nature my job, the magistrate smiled. A lot. I would go as far as to say a real chuckle.

Then she handed me the maximum possible fines that she could.

(I was very happy I drove the 200 miles for the court case, in my uninsured car....)

My brain started to make it's own little red pill I think, right there and then, after the court case...

Sort:  

@lucylin You have received a random upvote from @transparencybot for not using bidbots on this post and using the #nobidbot tag!

LOL you sound as bad (or good) as me, great story my friend, I will pop back and upvote later today when my vp is above the 90's.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93