Yellow Time

in #blog5 years ago (edited)

My last living grandmother celebrated her 88th birthday today, and it made me think a little, as I can remember when we celebrated her 70th birthday just like it was yesterday. Damn, does the time fly. It might not seem like it on a bad stressed out day, but looking back I don't know where all that time has gone :) Now it seems to me almost like a blink of an eye, and who knows where we will be in another 20 years. If I reach such high age I just hope I'll be even half as sprightly as my grandmother is :)

And from already a month ago, here are a couple of photos for today's #colorchallenge, a few flowers for this otherwise grey, cold day.

1.jpg

Lots of yellow in the first garden. I think they are some sort of chrysanthemums. Well, these continue to bloom even now that the snow has gone and they righted themselves back up.

The chrysanthemum has many meanings and stories, the most in the far east where it's considered a very special flower indeed. Even the highest national decoration/medal in Japan is named after it. Here most people see it as a graveyard flower that represents transience of life, death, memory and grieving, but I prefer the east version which talks about positive power and wishing a good and long life :)

2.jpg

And this one is from even further back, a little less yellow in the other garden. I think it's a sort of gladiolus, all gone a while ago. I don't have a story about this one, it's just pretty :)

Let that be it, thanks for stopping by, and have a nice day.

Photos taken with Huawei P9

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66441.00
ETH 3217.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22