Super Succulent Celebration - My First Show!

in #blog6 years ago

Hi Steemit!

I had my first event for MadPotters in Bonsall, CA! It was the "Super Succulent Celebration" at Waterwise Botanicals - complete with succulent celebrities, workshops...and me :D Between making displays last minute (check out @nutinbutdatruth post about how: https://steemit.com/diy/@nutinbutdatruth/reclaimed-display-ladder-build-3-23) and trying to guess how much inventory I needed, its been a really busy week! I wanted to share with you some of the high (and low) lights of the weekend:

IMG_20180323_121824.jpg
*no cactus was harmed during this photo shoot


I had a ton of pots and plants to pair up the day before the show, so I decided to repurpose a Trim Bin as a potting station. Its perfect!! The day is going smoothly until....

IMG_20180321_133008.jpg

IMG_20180321_133338.jpg________________________________
I see the USPS man walking up the driveway with a box that could only contain my new MADPOTTERS sign...just in time! Or so I thought. Its an empty box. FUCK!!

IMG_20180322_131716.jpg


Ok, no worries - Day Of. The display tent doesnt look half bad despite the stormy sky.

IMG_20180323_085900 (1).jpg


Here's another stand @nutinbutdatruth whipped up for me. I've got swear pots on the top! Unfortunately, I had to take them down....

IMG_20180323_085937.jpg


But not before a this lovely customer snagged one!

IMG_20180323_093853.jpg


I couldnt resist running around the rose garden with my pots, trying to take enough photos to last me the next month in social media posting, lol.

IMG_20180323_085803.jpg


IMG_20180324_055922_717.jpg


All in all, I had a great time and I think it went pretty well for our first show! My favorite part was meeting all of the succulent friends Ive gotten to know over social media. I like being able to put a face to a name, even if it is their Instagram one, lol. So... Ill be at the Avocado Festival in Fallbrook, CA next! Hope to see you Sunday, April 15th.

Happy Potting,
Christie

Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord

#succulents #gardening #pots #handmade #homedecor #busy #avocadofestival

Sort:  

Damn, I thought I HAD followed you and I was just wondering whether you had quit or not. Steemit must have hiccupped that day. Glad to see that you are still posting and making fantastic pots

xoxo!! I swear I click on FOLLOW and it shows I did but then I'm not ALL THE TIME!!! glad its not just me :D

What happened to that one you dropped and stood on a while ago? I think that was you.

omg I totally forgot about that guy! not enough growth to make a whole post about...but a few of the crushed leaves actually have roots going :) thanks for the reminder!

IMG_20180330_081138.jpg

succulents are amazing. their resilience! one fell off the window sill and we actually found it growing off the wall. the roots somehow stuck and it continued thriving.

I Heart Bonsall. Been there a few times. I like it's charm. Congrats on your first event. I hope you sell a ton of succulents!

thank you!!! <3 Bonsall is amazing, we almost moved there before landing in Fallbrook.

Wow @madpotters I love the designs on your pots. Definitely checking out your etsy page. Sucks they made you take down your swear ones though. I thought those had the most charm lol

thank you! if you're on instagram, Ive got a lot more stuff showcased there. etsy is a pain, lol, and right now most of my customers come from IG anyways....

Love your work, the physical stuff. And your booth looks great! Glad you got that first show under your belt.

thank you so much! i cant wait to try that new epoxy method you told me about :D

I would enjoy coming up and sharing my "poxy skillz" some weekend, once I am dun movin...

yes, please! hows moving going?

That totally didnt SUCC-ulent! Ever thought about making a pot with the steem logo?

hahaha good one! I should, shouldnt I? And then give it away in a contest?

Lol! I have a fantasy about retiring and running around doing rock shows... Sort of a "gypsy light" lifestyle! You do meet the most fun people at places like these little shows!

do it! i quit my corporate desk job last year to move to SoCal and pursue living. Im not quite sure where these pots will lead me, but so far Im really enjoying the journey. And not working 9-5 is pretty awesome, too!

We are just a few months from my husband reaching retirement eligibility. At that point, all options get put on the table... just might bump into you at some show somewhere lol! Best of luck to you, it is wonderful to see people get out and grab life by the balls!

I hope I do!! Please keep me posted if you end up venturing into shows :D When you say rock - do you mean gemstone rocks or rock and roll music?

Gemstones! They are much quieter than rock bands, especially when you stuff them in the trunk to take them home. ;)

hahaha! Do you sell them now, or just a future endeavor? I've recently been incorporating gemstones into my cement pots, and always looking for new sources to buy from!

Hey, we might could work something out! I have not sold them, but hope to get a little rock working shop set up this summer.

sounds awesome, keep me posted! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69849.38
ETH 3709.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73