This Little Life Of Mine - The First Day Of The Rest Of His Life.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #blog6 years ago



Thursday, 9th November, 2017.

07.03

I don't know why I'm shitting myself. I'm not going to school for the first time in 5 years. That's what I'm thinking as I listen to Louis, next door, in the bathroom, laughing his head off at an episode of The Big Bang Theory on his phone.

Yeah, I know. Kids can't even have a shower without bombarding themselves with media! 

Even though he's laughing I still have "THE FEAR!" for him. Stupid bloody parenting.

08.47

It's done. I dropped him off in the car park opposite, by the Christchurch. I offered to take him to reception but he declined. He obviously didn't want to look like a total Wanker, having his dad walk him in. I'd have done the same. 

Prior to leaving. I drank coffee, checked his bag. Smoked a cigarette, checked his uniform. Checked both again. Then again. Then stood by the door trying not to look anxious. 

I was warming the car up 15 minutes before the earliest we could leave! 

Pfft! I'm an idiot.

Anyway. Back to the drop off. I watched him until he disappeared through the gate. Then, like a soundtrack for my life(or the fact it's in my playlist!), what would come on?



It had to be. 

12.01

As I'd taken the day off work, I figured I'd use it as wisely as possible. This somehow lead me to Iceland. Not the country. The frozen food shop. I was checking out the excellent selection of Christmas" I'm too drunk to do any more than throw it in the oven" party food section, when I bumped into "her" mum.

I'd forgotten to fill them in about Louis' quick admission to school. Long story short. She gave me money and had a little cry. Bless her.

14.29

After leaving Iceland, I headed into Staines. I decided that Louis deserved a reward after all the hard work he had put in. I mean, no one at the school can believe he hasn't been schooled for 5 years. I bought him Call of Duty WWII Pro Edition. It was £90 but,........there is no "but". I just wanted to. Alright?! I had a pint in the catacombs of the undead(The George Pub). During which, my other son, Sonny, rang me for chats about Christmas and stuff. A welcome distraction, I can tell you.

Then I came home to make bolognese and do some chores. 

OK. It's collection time.

16.40

I'm laying down drinking a large(Alright, fucking large!) gin and bitter lemon. 

So. There I am sitting in my car, in the car park, watching all the children come out the gates. All of a sudden, I see him. He has a face like death/anger/humiliation/crying as he crosses the road. Hugging the straps of his back pack. 

"Aaww fuck!", I thought. My heart was in my mouth. All I could think of was to try and calm him with the £10 his Grandma had given him, and the bucket of sweets and game I'd bought him. This is gonna be shit.

He opened the back door. Threw his back pack in, then got in the front. I looked at him."how'd it go then?" trying to be as upbeat as I could. He turned to me, straight faced....then smiled.

"It was Fuckin' great!". 

Lol. He stitched me right up. I should have known really. After all. He is me!

He really enjoyed it. Everyone was really nice. Really friendly. He played football at lunchtime. Made a couple of friends. People asked him his hobbies......., etc.

At one point I was thinking,"Really?!? When I went there, as a kid, most people were right evil little cunts!". Time moves on I suppose. Still, first day. Watch this space.

I drove him home as he regaled me with the Ins and outs of the day, lesson by lesson. He genuinely seemed happy. When we got home I gave him his treats and made him hang up his uniform.

He is now downstairs killing Nazi's. As any teenager should be. No homework yet. 

Just you wait, my son, just you wait.............

18.24

The world has righted itself, with the aid of a couple of gins. So now I'm prepping everyone's dinner. The joys of being a parent. 

The relief is beyond compare. Louis has done all the achieving but as his dad, I'm gonna revel in the glow of it. If I had any achievements of my own to revel in I would. 

Note to self: I must achieve something tomorrow.

 steemit-follow-e1507056029174.png

SB Banner NEW.png

Sort:  

Your post had been curated by the @buildawhale team and mentioned here:

https://steemit.com/buildawhale/@buildawhale/buildawhale-curation-digest-11-17-17

Because you were selected by the @buildawhale team you have received a Whaleshare upvote (account: @officialfuzzy) thanks to the whaleshares community and @buildawhale

Keep up the good work and original content, everyone appreciates it!

The joys of being a parent... nicely put!

nice. i enjoyed that. and the little tension twist when he came out sad and crying buy was just fucking with dad.... love it!

I know. Bloody kids! He'll get his, lol.

im gonna be in england for a month in a month. Ill mostly be down in southhampton.

This post has received a 1.33 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @markperandin.

This post has received a 0.52 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @markperandin. Send at least 1 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

@resteem.bot
Resteemed to over 5800 followers and 100% upvoted. Thank you for using my service!

Send 0.100 Steem or 0.100 Steem Dollar and the URL in the memo to use the bot.
Read here how the bot from Berlin works.
@resteem.bot

excellent,i here this song nad it's looks like very soft and emotional.

iNTRO pIC-01.jpg

This post was resteemed & upvoted by @superbot - the Best Resteem bot on Planet !
Good Luck!

Follow for 10 minutes ,
Send 0.100 Steem/Steem Dollar and the URL in the memo that you want resteemed and upvoted.

So don't waste any time ! Get More Followers and gain more Visibility With Superbot .

WooHoo!!!

Upvoted by @Tpot thanks to @markperandin for being a community member.

128.png

Please keep visiting our discord server.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62622.67
ETH 2944.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61