About New Year's Resolution - And Why I Don't do exercise all day

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

Every year the same: It's time to put an end to all vices! Also: Which new passion do I finally get started with? Eat healthy, do more exercise, eat better food and focus on a conscious lifestyle - these are the top 3 resolutions of 2018, and the 2017 list is very similar. Granted, it's already gone through my mind. After all, I was a vegetarian for two years in January 2012! (And yeah, I didn't stick with it completely but the two years of absence definitely changed my food habits) But since then I don't take the matter too seriously. This subliminal urge to state a resolution wanders my mind every now and then. But let's be honest: Do I really believe in change just because I decide it's time to set a fresh resolution every year? What is it really about these intentions? Why do we throw honest intentions on a pile, until we pull them out again right before New Year's Eve? 

Too many and too big resolutions

"From now on, I exercise every day!" Man, I've said that before. That sounds enthusiastic and really motivated. It's best if I stop drinking alcohol and cook fresh every day. Suddenly I find myself in a vast world of ideas and desires, I go running twice a week, cook with vegetables every now and then – of course – drink a glass of wine (or two) with my flat mates. So what happens? All the changes I want so much are crumbling and falling apart. They are eating each other up. 

Negative definition

Simply the way how we set our goals can have an impact on it's implementation. I keep hearing about people wanting to stop doing things! Back then in my case, it was meat-renunciation. But the renunciation can take effect without referring only to negatives:

"I want to deliberately deal with nutrition and meat consumption plus learn something about alternatives!". Doesn't sound so bad, right? 

You don't need to be someone else, you just need to return to the old you. I found this quote on a blog by James Clear. It sounds much nicer to become a non-smoker than quitting smoking, doesn't it? Let's clear some space for positive elements in our thinking! 

Non-specific statement

I have learned for myself that it is important to define a precise objective. Instead of "just doing more exercise", I could create a schedule with smaller stages. This way, even small achievements can be celebrated. I plan to run twice a week and do some cardio training on another day. With time comes routine and motivation is maintained. 


Hey, I realize that the topic is only briefly touched on, but I'm not interested in teaching or explain motivation as a whole. There are just three points that crossed my mind during the annual resolution discussion. And secretly I still have a small resolution. Besides writing, I would like to continue making music! This is a passion I life for and I can not imagine to be without music. How do I implement this? Somehow everything happens by itself with music. Unfortunately, it's way easier as jogging and cardio training..


What are your thoughts on this? Have you already been successful and how do you do it? Happy New Year to everyone! 



Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 62177.56
ETH 2918.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66