Random thoughts: What I noticed...

in #blog7 years ago

Random things pop up in my head from time to time, things I've noticed, some from articles or news I've read before. I'm sure it's not all original, but then again, it made sense at the right moment:

  1. Rest is really important. I am not usually bright and bubbly, motivated and hyped, excited and all. I would consider myself more or less a neutral person (from being very negative when I was younger). Most of the time I would consider myself a 'positive' person. However, when I am deprived of sleep and rest, I would find myself thinking about things that are negative.

  2. Sometimes we need to talk to ourselves. I talk to myself often, usually in 2 voices, sometimes 3... I'm not crazy, not schizophrenic. I saw a video about an anti-social experiment done in the UK, about leaving the volunteers in solitary confinement for a number of days and out of 5 who tried it, 3 succeeded. One freaked out after 4 hours, another after 23 hours. The rest who survived said they either talked (communicated) with the video camera or work on art (concentrating on things). We have too many distractions these days, social media platforms, the Internet, video games, computer, the TV et cetera... you'd noticed the younger generations these days could not really survive being left on their own without any source of communications. I remember being anxious if I went anywhere without my phone, although nobody really called me, I still felt insecure without it. Would you care to be on your own, with no electronics communications, completely shut out from the world for say... 5 days? I know I would, I tried 3 days before, many times, 5 wouldn't make a difference. Once you crossed the line, you'd survive.

  3. Self-pity is addictive. I remember when I was young, sometimes when I couldn't sleep at night, I would picture myself being left out in the cold, abandoned by my family and I had to fend for myself. Lying in bed, on a hot night, I made some sort of a makeshift tent from my blanket and lay down in a fetal position, freezing cold (literally feeling cold). Sounds like a pathetic childhood huh? haha, but yeah, I was so absorbed in my world of self-pity. I'm glad I came out from all this... now I do not allow myself to cry out of self-pity. I have more important things to do.

  4. Communication is very important, communication skills are even more important. I have seen people ruin relationships because of bad choices of words; I have seen people win favors and popularity from the right choices of words, despite not delivering what they promised; I have seen how some people are people magnet despite not being the best looking in the room. I remember cringing when my aunt talked to her sister (another aunt) and with poor choices of words, poor communication skills, both weren't speaking anymore, even after the latter passed away. When I was in university, "Communication Skills" was one of the compulsory subjects we had to take, I never understood the reason we had to sit for that paper, I thought it was a God-given skill, we are abled people, not handicapped, why should communicating be something we need to learn. Oh yeah, now I realized how so many people are handicapped in this 'skill'. I am not perfect, while I know how to choose the right words at the right time, I still have so many other communication skills to learn.

  5. I never believed in making wishes; be it when I see a shooting star, or throwing coins into a wishing well or a fountain, or just making birthday wishes before blowing out the candles. They never came true. The last time I believed in making wishes was when I was 7. It was the holidays, my aunts, uncles, and cousins came to visit and we were getting ready to go to the beach. We, the kids, woke up super early and helped made sandwiches and got our beach gear and toys ready. It was gloomy when we woke up, you could imagine all our faces when the adults said if it rained, the beach plan might be canceled​. The mom said we'll go anyway and see when we get there, if it still rained, we'd go home. I remember praying VERY hard (I went to Sunday school, so I prayed to the Christian God) that it stopped raining. When we reached the beach, not only it stopped raining, the sun was out. WOW! Prayers answered! Anyways, none of my prayers and wishes were answered after that. I stopped believing in making wishes. If I wanted something, I'd work my way to get it, or I stop "WANTING" it. These days I still make wishes when I see a shooting star; I hardly get birthday cakes because I told everyone not to get me one, but when I did, I'd still make a wish... but I'd wish for others. I'd wish my parents are healthy, I'd wish my friends are happy, I'd wish my nephews are growing up well, I'd wish... wait for it... world peace! hahaha​, no, I'm kidding, I REALLY kidding, but yeah, my wishes are left for people around me. Last year, my birthday wish was for someone, I hope she's happy now. This year, my birthday wish was someone else. Sometimes I'd sing the song by Wham... ~~Last Christmas I gave you my heart, but the very next day, you gave it away...
    yeah, then I stopped, no self-pity. Hahaha.

Enough random thoughts today... I need some time to reflect. Plus, it's time to make dinner~

Sort:  

Making wishes may not be the way but having wishes and dreams is a self propelling method that keeps me going when the motivation is low. Love the random thoughts.

thanks, i agree with having dreams, not the making empty wishes...

Congratulations @melancholee! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I rest in a very simple way - cooking, shopping and sleeping.
I never self-pity, I only work more.

good for you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61143.11
ETH 2928.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56