An Old Radio Station That Looks Like It Could Be In The Movies.

in #blog5 years ago

Last weekend I was visiting my parents. While there, I wanted to go on a long bike ride to check out some forests where I used to go mountain biking when I was a kid. While making a route plan I stumbled upon an interesting place on the map. An old long-distance radio station that was built in the 1920s.

I knew it existed, I just never visited. The building, sometimes referred to as The Cathedral, looks like it is straight from a Hollywood movie set!

Screenshot 2019-06-25 at 12.55.29.pngPicture taken from Wikipedia.

The building was constructed in 1918 and used for long distance communication with Indonesia, a former Dutch colony. Nowadays, the building has a monument status and is used for cultural events such as art expositions. This is not for any reason because, apart from the exterior, the interior also looks quite nice:

Screenshot 2019-06-25 at 15.19.29.pngPicture taken from Wikipedia.


After about a 30km bike ride I got to the building, which is in the middle of the forest. Unfortunately for me though, is that there was a private event going on. Which meant I couldn't check out the inside myself.

Oh well, at least I got to see the outside and shoot a picture of it myself:

Screenshot 2019-06-25 at 15.26.22.png


I always like to stumble upon little hidden secrets like this building!

Thanks for stopping by!

Cheers // Michel

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63035.00
ETH 3022.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82