Play Green -- My First Kickstarter Backing Purchase Arrived

in #blog6 years ago

I know I'm pretty late with the whole Kickstarter backing thing but today I've received a first product that was successfully backed. The product, a pair of shoes produced by a company called Wado, is nothing groundbreaking. Their philosophy is good though. The idea is that they produce quality and fashionable products while at the same time taking care of the environment.

Screen Shot 2018-07-09 at 20.35.08.png

This pair of sneakers that I've received today come with an 80s look and are produced in Portugal from chromium-free leather. Additionally, for each pair of shoes, Wado plants two trees! The shoebox had a small infographic showing where the trees are planted.

Screen Shot 2018-07-09 at 20.34.03.png

Appart from the shoes I also received a shopping bag and a shoe bag to store the shoes! There was also a little thank you note inside the box. A cool little feature about the note: it was written on paper that contains some tree seeds. You can simply put the paper in a pot of soil and pour some water over it. Gonna try that one day soon.

Screen Shot 2018-07-09 at 20.37.18.png
It shipped with a shopping bag and a shoe bag!

Screen Shot 2018-07-09 at 20.34.40.png
If you look closely you can see the seeds inside the paper.

This Kickstarter project is just a pair of shoes you might think. But it is companies like Wado that are slowly changing the consumer market into something more sustainable. The proved that everyday products can be produced with better materials for a fair price. Although retail prices might be a bit steeper, as a backer I paid 69 Euros. A fair price if you'd ask me!

Every little bit helps!


Disclaimer

I am not affiliated with Wado in any way. I just think their work is positive for the transition to a more sustainable future for all of us!

Sort:  

I like these initiatives and New market products with an 80s look. But are they like pantoffels on your feet? @s3rg3 remember the seeded paper 😉

They actually fit quite ok. Not sure of course if this still holds after after a few months :)

Blog about that in a few months 😉

I love this concept, and I also love the look of the shoes! Think I saw an ad for this on Facebook once, and they grabbed my attention! If I get a job I might buy a pair myself😁

Awesome! Just received my first Kickstarter ever last week as well such a coincedence 😉. But my delivery went wrong got an empty box.. Was creating a unboxing movie and so funny while watching it back you see my hands going like WTF! where are they? Grabbing all the other things from the box in search for the Knops 🤣

But your shoes looks great! And indeed loving the card with the seeds. Curious to see if that will work in the end.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99