First Week in a New City

in #blog5 years ago

Hello friends. I moved to San Diego on Thursday and have been settling in quite nicely. The journey began at the gas station as we (my dad and I) filled up the uhaul and my car. I snapped a picture of the sunrise before hitting the road 20190813.JPG
Then we hit the road- about a 350 mile drive south20190813_1.JPG

We got to the new house and started the unloading process. I didn't take any photos because I hate having things everywhere and was determined to just knock it out- which I did in around 3 hours. Meanwhile, I met one of my new roomates- Meow Meow20190812_1.JPG She is VERY vocal (hencer her name) and very friendly 20190811.JPG

For helping me move and just being an amazing father, I took him to a baseball game. And I got my first dose of the generosity of San Diegans (we were given 2 free tickets- in some awesome seats I might add) IMG_52391.png

And then... during my first night.. my car got towed. A miscommunication with my roomate (not the cat)- and learned a lesson about parking here in the community. No pictures of this either because, well- I was pissed.

But got over it quickly as we next ventured to my literal heaven on earth- The dog beach..
20190809_10.JPG20190809_12.JPG

This is Layla, a very happy dog20190809_13.JPG

Then it was time.. my dad had to get back to Las Vegas for work the next morning, and I had to say goodbye- I asked him to take a photo with me.
20190809.JPG

Then I dropped him off at the airport- and cried. A cry I have never cried before. After my cry I felt much lighter, and decided to catch the sunset.
20190809_5.JPG20190809_7.JPG

I slept well, and the next day visited the farmers market. (My roomate runs an avocado toast business-so I stopped by to say hi) 20190810_22.JPG20190813_2.JPG20190810_19.JPG

I found my closest gym, and Trader Joes (for groceries) and then of course- another sunset at the cliffs20190812_32.JPG20190812_46.JPG20190812_57.JPG20190812_38.JPG20190812_54.JPG

To cap off the weekend, there was another farmers market on Sunday20190812_6.JPG20190812_12.JPG

And finally came across this cool little spot. My roommate is currently inquiring about the space in hopes to run his operation out of full time- and he is looking for investors at a convenient time that I am looking to invest. (AKA- I hope to start my first business with his help)20190812_23.JPG

To recap. I am a bit overwhelmed as I do not have a "consistent source of income", and I do not want to deplete my entire savings from selling my house. But I am also so happy I made the jump to a new city, and a beautiful one at that. The beach is a 15 minute drive away, which I am truly blessed by. It is my therapy. And free (except for gas) Since I am in a city with great weather, I also notice I am outdoors more- which brings me to my next little angst. I feel overwhelmed with trying to keep up with Steem developments, and the discord and other articles of interest. I do feel like the time to take advantage is narrowing and I want to put myself in a position to bring in a nice return on investment. So I am having a hard time balancing taking advantage of the the beauty of city, with digesting the necessary information to keep me abreast. When I lived in Las Vegas, it was a desert, and very easy for me to sit in my room on the computer all day. But now there is so much more to seek- and to discover in "the real world". But I will find my balance. Thanks for listening. Stay well friends.

20190813_3.JPG

Sort:  

What a great post. I feel I was there helping you move. And I would have cried aswell if my dad left!
The cat is gorgeous! A dog beach I wish I had that here.
You wrote:
When I lived in Las Vegas, it was a desert, and very easy for me to sit in my room on the computer all day. But now there is so much more to seek- and to discover in "the real world". But I will find my balance. You already took the first step with this blog. It’s a caturday marketfriday and skies blog all in one do the new place screams Steemit and we don’t mind if you are not in the house now we know you will return when everything is settled and then we still will be there

Thank you! Your support means and helps a lot. The Steem terminal has definitely found its way to a piece of my heart and mind

Well that’s mutual my friend , and when I am ever in San Diego .....

Hello fellow @minnerz22

Your post was upvoted with 71.16% ($0.0189) because you are an awesome follower of s77assistant.

You have earn a total of $0.4499 so far. keep it up.
Together we can achieve our goal and push STEEM to the moon.


At the current time my full vote worth $0.0265 but with your help this can change.
Delegating power will increase my vote worth and your reward.
50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1,000SP, 5,000SP, Custom Amount
Make sure you have at least 15 SP left on your account.


Visit s77assistant's daily report to stay informed about any news


Awesome photos, and sounds like an exciting new beginning in a fresh city! Thanks for the update! 😃

Hello fellow @minnerz22

Your post was upvoted with 70.05% ($0.0187) because you are an awesome follower of s77assistant.

You have earn a total of $0.431 so far. keep it up.
Together we can achieve our goal and push STEEM to the moon.


At the current time my full vote worth $0.0267 but with your help this can change.
Delegating power will increase my vote worth and your reward.
50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1,000SP, 5,000SP, Custom Amount
Make sure you have at least 15 SP left on your account.


Visit s77assistant's daily report to stay informed about any news


Thanks for sharing your experience with us!

You have been curated by @thekittygirl on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, with each individual living their best life, and being responsible for their own well being. Check it out at @innerblocks for the latest information and community updates, or to show your support via delegation.

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

I love all the pictures! Especially #3 and the dog park. Sorry your car got towed. Good luck on the business venture!
Manually curated by @akiroq.


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.

Hello fellow @minnerz22

Your post was upvoted with 75.99% ($0.0216) because you are an awesome follower of s77assistant.

You have earn a total of $0.4123 so far. keep it up.
Together we can achieve our goal and push STEEM to the moon.


At the current time my full vote worth $0.0285 but with your help this can change.
Delegating power will increase my vote worth and your reward.
50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1,000SP, 5,000SP, Custom Amount
Make sure you have at least 15 SP left on your account.


Visit s77assistant's daily report to stay informed about any news


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63071.06
ETH 3121.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84