Limit of the best

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

images (45).jpeg
Source

Thoughts upon the pond of my mind

I broke the chains of putting my best foot first just few weeks ago, and I can tell you it's been magic. A lot of time we are quick to undermine our abilities. Sometimes we think if we offer our best first, then we might have no more best to offer.

This is not a right thinking, infact, this is called mental slavery.

There have been so many situations in the past where I have undermined my abilities because I thought it would make more sense for me to save the best for later. I wonder how many opportunities I have thrown away by having that thought.

I remember one time I was in a debate, I was going head to head with my opposition. I had a point I crafted during my research about a week earlier which I saved for the "final blow", but how does it sound to drop the final blow in the first round. Yes It may have earned me all the points, but it wouldn't be fun. Or so I thought. Anyway I lost the debate. That "final blow" should have been the first strike.

When I got on steemit, as a usual newbie with a lot of $0.0 posts, I had the fear of posting write ups that took me a lot of time and thinking to come up with. My thought was that those posts could be used at a later time when I had acquired a reasonable amount of following and obtained favour of whale upvotes, so it could be seen more. So I held on to my "good" write ups.

It is very interesting that a lot of us prefer to think we can't do more than our best.

But I came across a post by favorite writer of mine here @nonameslefttouse. He said "if people don't like my post, then it's left to them". Whatever that post meant made me unleash that chain that made me think my best should be saved for later, and I can honestly tell you maybe I used to have one best post per week, now I have series upon series of best posts. Infact, all my write ups are so best, that it's even hard for me to pick the best of the best.

What do you think?

These are just thoughts upon the pond of my mind on a sunny noon.

Have a good day

Ild upvote interesting comments later in the day...enjoy

Sort:  

Awesome!
One interesting thing about the mind is its ability to reproduce something better than what it gave the last time. There is always a' best" that is better than your "current best", and until you unleash your "current best" you will loose sight of what is to come.

This post is speaking (or better put, applies) to me as well. I have a couple of post topics (even videos) that I've been keeping. Many a times, when I envision the "meagre" upvote outcome, I'm discouraged to put it out. Like you said, it is mental slavery. It's high time we let go of our "current best" so our mind can process greater things.

Kind regrads.

There is always a' best" that is better than your "current best", and until you unleash your "current best" you will loose sight of what is to come

This is true, massive amounts of change occur in life per second, the best yesterday may not be the best today anymore, hence we need to continually evolve,..do you remember that song when we were small "good better best, i shall never rest, until my good is better, and my better best"lol...best is not the end

Thanks for commenting bro

You nailed it bro!
Always a pleasure sir!!
Cheers!!!

@mistakili, bro.. Thank you man, for giving me the courage not to give up on writing. Sometimes, when I post a good post after a lot of research. I get up not getting enough turn ups.

Sometimes it discourages me, but I remember the say of my mum. "Do what you do best, because you love doing it and not for the praises. Someday, you will be recognized for your works". And now, you are telling me so..
Thanks bro. I do look forward to meeting you, when I visit Ibadan @mistakili. You are among my best authors man.

I do wish someday,you will visit my post, and take a look at my works, bro. Keep up the vision, of steemjet.

Thanks a bunch for your comment bro, ive followed you, i think im the worst at writing but thank you lol

Hahahahaha, you aren't the worst in writing... You can't improve if you don't take the bold step @mistakili

This type of reasoning is not strange, each person has a certain ability that stands out from the rest, that we leave the best for last. Many times to use this we get it right, but sometimes not. What happens is that we abuse our trust or we think a lot of things and that makes the result different from what was stated.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Wow.. sangat bagus

Great motivation for upcoming writers it's true we don't want to waste our efforts and at the end we don't receive anything for it, it's really unfair.

Save the best for the last, but when the odds are in your favour maybe you could drop the best in your first shot.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99