Medical Marijuana in Ohio? Hurry Up Already

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

I don’t know how many, if any on Steem are from Ohio, but I would like to hear from you if you are.

Ohio legalized medical marijuana in September of 2016. They were supposed to have everything set for dispensaries to open in September of 2018. They should have been issuing card to those with qualifying conditions this month. The did finally license a few growers and dispensaries the end of June.


They have yet to institute the process to receive the official card from the pharmacy board. They say the patient registration portal will be activated closer to when marijuana becomes available. Why in the world not just activate it, if it is even setup, then those who have conditions that this may help will be ready ahead of time?

Testing labs are ready and physicians are in place to recommend medical marijuana, but no processors to turn plants into edibles, oils, creams and tinctures have been selected. A Commerce Department official says those licenses will be issued in the coming weeks. They have had 2 years? Get it done already.

I apologize if I sound bitter. I don’t even know that medical cannabis will help me. I know it is helping others. I hope that it will help with some of my issues.

I have suffered with autoimmune diseases since I was 8 years old, or at least the first was diagnosed them. I was then diagnosed with Crohn’s disease at the age of 10. I’m now in my early 40’s and also diagnosed with rheumatoid arthritis, degenerative disc disease, chronic pain, chronic ptsd, severe depression, severe anxiety... I could go on, but suffice to say I am not a healthy person. I have tried steroids, biologicals, and everything in between. I have a genetic tolerance to opiates, and have found no pain killers that help anything.

I am not having a pity party, I am just saying I have a very good reason to want to try and see if this medication will help. It is healthier than and of the other meds I have tried.

I apologize for this rant, but wanted to bring to anyone from Ohio’s attention who may be unsure of the medical marijuana that’s coming. There are people who genuinely need something else to try. I know friends in Michigan that have had a lot of relief from it. Please don’t assume that everyone trying to get it just wants to get high.


Rant over. I will be back to my tech posts later.

<\center>

Sort:  

Congratulations @mrunderstood! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60693.34
ETH 3032.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81