TAILS - Take Internet Privacy With You Wherever You Go!

in #blog6 years ago (edited)


The TAILS I am talking about is an amazing privacy tool. It is an Operating System from the same people that give us the Tor Browser. You can download it and find out more information at the TAILS Home Page.

The Amnesic Incognito Live System, or TAILS, is a portable operating system. What I mean by this is that it is designed to run from a USB drive. You can also run it from a DVD, but a USB seems much more portable to me personally.

What is TAILS though?


TAILS is basically a Linux operating system that is optimized for anonymity. It comes with Tor, which we have discussed before in my post about the difference between Tor and VPN, and also with several other privacy and encryption.

This was originally a project called Amnesia and based on the Incognito operating system, which were merged into this one amazing project.

I don't see the need to explain why you might need anonymity and privacy online. If you don't see the need, than it is probably not something that is important to you. If you are concerned with privacy and anonymity than I am convinced this may be one of the best options out there.

Why is TAILS such a good option?


Since it runs from a USB drive, TAILS doesn't store any data locally. This makes it pretty much immune to malicious software and prevents someone from performing effective forensics on the computer after you have used it.

If you want an example of someone who has used TAILS for a good reason, we have Edward Snowden. Most of you know who he is, the NSA Whistleblower who risked his life to expose the government spying on all of us. It was also used by Glen Greenwood, and Laura Poitras while communicating with Snowden. This is not a history lesson, but if you are not familiar with them, please look them up.

“I don't want to live in a world where everything I say, everything I do, everyone I talk to, every expression of creativity and love or friendship is recorded.” - Edward Snowden

I personally agree whole heartedly with Mr Snowden on at least this point (Yes NSA, I said I agree with him.) and apparently many others do as well. Tor was originally developed by the US Naval Research Lab, and has been used but everyone from Silk Road drug dealers, to journalists, activist, whistleblowers, stalking victims, paranoid nut jobs, and people who simply value their privacy online.

Am I 100% protected with TAILS?

Absolutely not! No operating system, security system, or privacy tool can guarantee complete protection in all situations.

Along with Tor, TAILS includes many privacy tools like PGP, KeePassX, and Off-the-Record a chat encryption program. However don't look at the applications in TAILS and assume they are just the standard off the shelf versions. The TAILS developers have modified most of the applications to improve the privacy of it's users.

No amount of tools, no amount of security, planning, and protections can compete with the number 2 enemy of security, Human Error. TAILS comes with some programs like OpenOffice, and GIMP... I question to reasoning behind this, but I'm sure it's there for good reason. TAILS is not design as a regular daily OS, and should not be used that way. It should be used only for specific activities that need to be kept anonymous, and nothing else. If you choose to use it for everything, you will eventually use it for something that could be linked to your identity and blow your cover entirely.

How Do I Use Tails?


You guys have so many questions! I guess I can answer this one more.

TAILS has great instructions on how to create your bootable USB, so there is no point is explain it again, go here to create your drive. After than, just shutdown your computer, insert the USB in a slot and power on your computer. Boot to the USB drive and you will be ready to go shortly.

The first thing I recommend you do is open the browser and go to a site like whoer.net and see what your virtual location is :)

Take it with you. You can use it on virtually any computer, when you need or want the pinnacle of privacy.

Hi NSA! We know you're watching. I hope you like my post on steemit, please don't forget to upvote!



You are also more than welcome to set me as a proxy for your witness votes on the same link https://steemit.com/~witnesses, scroll to the very bottom where is say set proxy.


This simply allows your witness votes you follow mine. I am very picky about my votes and only vote for those whom I believe have reliable servers and who I find contributing to the steem community.

Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://mrunderstood.com/index.php/2018/07/15/tails-take-internet-privacy-with-you-wherever-you-go/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59504.00
ETH 2984.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74