Thinking Out Loud / Making a To-Do List / Goal Setting

in #blog5 years ago

We've done a few team-building / personality trait assessment exercises at the office over the last couple weeks, and it has kind of dawned on me that while in life, I'm a bit of an introvert -- I tend towards extroverted practices when I'm in a work / project / problem solving environment. I often find myself thinking out loud, and utilizing my team as a bit of a sound-board to work through ideas and projects.

lightbulb1042480_640.jpg

Probably Unrelated

The other day, I was chatting with one of my colleagues about some of our short-term goals / plans and what we had going on during the upcoming long weekend. I rattled off a short (ish) list of what I was thinking / planning to do, and then she mentioned that I was some kind of 'high-achiever'. I was a bit taken aback by this, because I don't really see myself this way. Sure, I like to dabble with new ideas and learn new skills, but I chalk that up to getting bored quickly with things that I've already mostly-understood. I was pretty blown away by how acutely I was seemingly described by one of these "personality type assessment" quizes we did the other week:

image.png

Those of you that know me probably aren't surprised by most of this -- I get really excited about new stuff, and hate dealing with the last 10~15% of detail required to finish a project. I'm a bulk work kinda person. Flesh out an idea, get a stable first-cut / prototype working, and then do everything I can to get other people to make it polished. My personal life, and personal goals are largely the same way. On an almost monthly basis, I get excited about different aspects of health, wellness, entertainment and family:

  • Set new running goals;
  • Consider buying an indoor cycling trainer;
  • Get back into a healthy yoga practice;
  • Stop enjoying so much beer;
  • Be a better vegan;
  • Renew my climbing gym membership and get fucking strong;
  • Develop @exhaust, as a way to track all of the above;
    • Oh but here there's this cool thing that @exhaust can do too...;
    • Figure out a calendar system;
    • Talk to local businesses about @exhaust and get real people involved;
  • Play the guitar more;
  • Pay more attention to @caitycat and the doggos;
  • Be a better brother/son/grandson
  • Read more books;
  • Build out the astro-van;
  • Build a computer for the van and make all those Tesla owning chumps jealous;
  • Live more;
  • Save more;
  • Build some cool VR cameras;
  • Find more time to relax;
  • Ditch a couple of these hobbies;
  • Build a blog and steem-store for @caitycat to sell her art;
  • Find new things to do...

@caitycat can easily attest to the fact that I likely have an addictive personality, and get pretty obsessive about things. One of my colleagues was surprised when I mentioned that I admire their discipline to stick to a plan until it's 100% complete.


With all of the above said, and with the intro paragraph in mind (I didn't come into this post with a plan of what to write... I just started mashing keys, and here I am) -- I enjoy using Steem, and specifically, posts like these, as a way to work through some ideas and flesh out plans / strategies for my next few weeks.

I spent some time over the weekend developing a few things for @exhaust -- specifically, the backbones on an achievement system, new leaderboards, and an automagic "newsletter" / "update" styled post that should get published every 3 days. The intent of the newsletter post is:

  • Update the larger steem community with the great training and exercising that exhaust users are enjoying;
  • Share our resteems with the community at large and try to highlight some cool stories we're finding;
  • Get @exhaust athletes hyped up on their performance in the Weekly, Monthly, and Yearly leaderboards that I've put together;
    • Expect to see these this week;
  • Build some revenue for @exhaust, which will mostly be used to purchase SBI shares for a weekly recurring Leaderboard contest based on the above.

cup1615074_640.png


After talking about all of this, I'm pretty sure that everything in my long list of hobbies / tasks / projects is achievable (with a few more not listed that I'm keeping on the down-low for now), and almost in-line with eachother. This 'stream of conciousness' act of getting some words down on the screen seems to 'stoke my fire' for lack of a better phrase. It makes me think of a discussion that myself, @caitycat, @somebuttstuff, and @flaversham were having yesterday about our "initial take" on things. Often, people come to new tasks from one of two mind-states -- a fixed mindset, or a growth mindset.

There's a lot to unpack in each of those two terms (originally coined by Dr. Carol Dweck) -- but from what I understand, the gist of it is that people often approach things in one of two ways -- either:

  • Assuming that ones self is a 'static' being, where at the end of the day, what you know is all that you know; or
  • Assuming that one is able to learn, adapt, and grow to acquire new skills, talents, passions and more.

If there's anything I've ever been certain of, it's that...

I may not have a fucking clue about something right now, but gimme a bit of time, and I'll figure it out.

That's me in a nutshell. It's how I approach school, relationships, exercise, work, conflicts, music, art, and more.


If you've made it this far, I'd like to shamefully scorn you for not realizing the pure lack of substance in the entirety of this post. There's no big reveal or worthwhile takeaway to be found here. I'm not even gonna leave you with a leading question to respond. Some might call it a shitpost. If you've found something in here insightful, please let me know what it was, so I can let you know why you're wrong.

Sort:  

ǝɹǝɥ sɐʍ ɹoʇɐɹnƆ pɐW ǝɥ┴

My takeaway is that you were talking to some people yesterday, most of whom you forced to be on Steem, and/or you have amazing abs, no hair, an unusual face, a power cord and some bracelets.

I'm pretty loud at parties, but then I need a big sleep... so I guess I'm an introvert who fakes it well..?

Hmmm... Lackin the abs... I have lots of hair and a standard face... But I DO have powercords and bracelets, so 2/5 aint bad!

I'm pretty loud at parties, but then I need a big sleep... so I guess I'm an introvert who fakes it well..?

That sounds like me too. I've often considered myself a bit of a 'social chameleon'... I can usually hang out with just about any crowd... But It definitely tuckers me out.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95