You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is College Worth It?

in #blog6 years ago

Sorry I hadn't seen this earlier, before I asked you about homesteading! I commented on all the comments and for the past hour I've been working my way down through everyone's blogs :)

I think college is worth it if you're going to pursue something that definitely requires the degree to even apply, and you have a pretty good idea you'll make it in that field. I'm a History major who got into the Navy as a supply officer. Degree was required to be an officer; specialty didn't matter since they want to train you their way anyway. So in my case, college was worth it.

Do you have background in business or accounting? I ask because I personally know of small businesses whose owners have great ideas, but struggle to execute them efficiently, or fail, all because they may be great when it comes to their product or service, but are clueless about finances and marketing and such. Maybe your time would be better worth gaining some knowledge in those areas so you could open that gun store with more ammo (pun intended) in your pocket :)

I say that if something makes you that miserable, you should quit. It's one thing to honor commitment and power through the tough times and yadda yadda, but if you don't even have something to look forward to at the end of the tunnel, to inspire you through it, why spend that time being unhappy? Think of college like a bad relationship...would you advise somebody who was miserable and envisioned no future with a significant other, "you've been together two years, you should stick it out longer"?

Sort:  

No problem at all, and hanks a lot for the input! Luckily, my parents have owned a small business for my entire life and I have worked summers there since I was probably 14 or 15. I will be doing it again this summer. I will need to spend some time outside of work learning the ins and outs of bookkeeping, but I am familiar with the process of dealer accounts, receiving orders, and stuff like that. Obviously there would need to be a transition period for me to learn whatever field specific software there might be, but I have luckily been in a similar environment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62963.68
ETH 3115.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89