You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem Dollars to Paper Dollars

in #blog6 years ago

Dollars can buy you Steem Power, and Steem Power can give you very lucrative voting clout. That's what should inspire people to convert dollars to Steem. However I've personally found that explaining Steemit to other people is as difficult as trying to explain Bitcoin or Ethereum was to other people in the early days. I think it will take a few years :)

Sort:  

I find that Steem is easier to explain than Bitcoin. Quite frankly, I think Steem is the ideal tool for introducing people to cybercurrency as it involves a game of curating posts for profit.

Like many new-steemians, I am set on building my steem wallet organically. I am still a few months away from my upvote being worth a penny.

As you mentioned it is still difficult to jiggle a hundred dollar bill out of person's hand to get them to buy steem. I am a case example. I know that my lack of Steem Power means that the upvote I dropped on your wonderful content is less than the rounding error, but that knowledge isn't enough to jiggle the hundred dollar bill I borrowed out of my hand.

Thanks for the upvote! And give @dustsweeper a visit. It's a bot that sweeps up the "dust" votes (ie less than $0.01 - which would otherwise be discounted) and bundles them together so they are worth something.
I think you're right to call Steemit a "game" - that probably makes more sense to people.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59036.72
ETH 2970.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73