Obligatory new dolphin post.

in #blog5 years ago

15 Months on Steemit.





What can I say. It's been an interesting and emotional journey. Everything is under pressure at the moment and the markets are killing us. With that said there is no better time to invest in a project. I know that everything seems bleak right now but i was actually pleasantly surprised by the reaction i have seen over the past week. People are realizing that they had been too comfortable until now. Too reliant on a governing body to lead the way and too expectant on the market to provide all of the value to the blockchain. We swiftly found out that is not going to be the case going forward.

What was even swifter than that was the outpouring of ideas and and solutions to the problems we are facing right now. That can only be a positive going forward that we are cutting back and tightening the processes need to move forward. When times were good and prices were soaring everybody took the focus off improving the blockchain and were all chasing the money instead. The reality of the situation is that all of this is still in the development stage and everything happening right now is only laying a foundation for future progress to build upon.

Ask Ned.



I can see that we all have a vision for the future of STEEM and ned's communication recently has brought this out to the fore. For his latest livestream I even put my own two cents into the bowl.

It's great to see that you are putting realistic and achievable plans in place and not only that but to be fair you're trying to show more of what is happening which we all appreciate. So thanks for that.

Obviously you have let go a lot of staff which will require a re organization of people and planning which makes perfect sense in the current environment but i hope that you will consider the fact that you a have a community of thousands willing and able to pick up some of the slack from this and steem inc doesn't have to go it alone. It's to all of our benefit that the blockchain is successful and there is an enormity of talent and brain power at your disposal to further this goal.

You have said that unfortunately you took on too broad a scope and that stretched steem inc further than it could go in the current market. In my opinion the solution to a lot of this are the apps currently developing and the apps yet to come. It's my belief that the priority for steem inc should be providing the best possible platform for these apps to develop and start earning external money. Once this is happening they will be able to cover a lot of the costs of running the blockchain through either charges or beneficiary posting on the chain. There are millions to be made from running successful apps so a blockchain running thousands of these should more than be able to cover the costs of running the platform that they are operating on.

My question to you is what is your priority going forward and how can we best facilitate the creation of all of these apps in the fastest and easiest way possible.
If you can create a roadmap to this, the apps will be able to create revenue and onboard users without any help from steem inc and allow you to focus on the development of the blockchain which was the original purpose.
If you can set out a road map for this and pinpoint exactly what is need to do it then i have no doubt that there are users here willing to take on some of those tasks and facilitate and speed up the process.

We are all in this together so i hope that you have seen form a lot of the posts during the week that we want to help and to be part of the process. You might not have the staff but you do have the people so reach out and use that to all of our advantage. You have been more open with the community and we can see how much will there is among it's users to improve the system and to bring it forward. I hope you won't let that go to waste.



That is what I would like to see next and that is why I have powered up to dolphin status. This is only the beginning and we will emerge from this rough patch stronger and tighter than than ever before. It has been a valuable lesson in preparation and planning, one which I hope that everybody involved has learned from.

Here for the long haul.






While technically this is a financial investment for me, in reality it's an investment in the community involved in the blockchain. Everything that i have seen recently has only convinced me even more how strong the core community is on the blockchain and the wealth of talent that we have here.

I will be here until we either breakthrough to mass adoption and change how people use the internet or until we burn the whole place down taking everybody and everything with us. Either way it will be entertaining and give us all something to post about.

I just want to say thank you to everybody who has been following, voting and commenting on my account since joining. I can honestly say that i have enjoyed all of the time spend on here and learned so much in my time here. I only hope that we can keep growing and bring more people into the STEEM eco-system.



image.png

Sort:  

You ain’t playing around are you? When I first ran into you, you were chilling around 2300! That’s some big gains and a big commitment to steemit and an example to the rest of us! Well done flipper, save room at the table for myself @fullcoverbetting we’ll be joining you soon enough

Posted using Partiko iOS

This is no place for playing around!! This is life or death.

I don't remember when I was at 2300 exactly but not that long ago I think. To be fair I did buy about 1500 steem with the price so low. I couldn't leave it behind. The rest however came fairly quickly too. Quicker than I though was possible for an account like me who wasn't a prolific writer or even well know in the right circles. I think just plugging away with actifit and steem plus and a few other bits like that really added up. All those comment contests are great too. Earned a couple hundred steem from joining about 4 of those.

I've no doubt that the two of you will be joining me up here at some stage, it's just a matter of when really. We can throw a proper celebration once we all make it to the next level and graduate from the minnow power up league. It's a great motivation to see those gains every week. Keep it up.

Posted using Partiko Android

It is indeed crazy how many steem one can earn these days. I am trying out everything. I could post my actifit post more frequently but I do only want to post them when I did reach 10K.
My first post of the day is always with busy for the upvotes. For the moment, the second is actifit or esteem, which also has some nice upvotes. Not every post, but around 50% of them.
If I do the math, it is still profitable.
Can you explain some more about how steemplus works and what the advantages are of it? Thx.

I'm literally using that same strategy and also trying things like steem-bounty when I can and trying to earn the old SBI and Steemit builder shares

I've been using steem-plus for a few weeks now it works on both steemit and busy.org, install it in your broser! You can delegate to it or do certain tasks to earn Steem Plus Points. The more SPP you earn the bigger your upvote! It has come in handy i have to admit!

Thanks will look into it a little more. Probably today.
Cheers,
Peter

I have steem plus as well which really improves the site as a plug in. I earned a lot of points buying and selling steemmonsters cards which put me in the 12th highest points position. I have 4500 and it gets me a 0.22c upvote daily which isn't bad at the moment. That is just from activity and not delegating. I was buying cards when I needed them and then selling again afterwards. It added up.

Posted using Partiko Android

According to steemitboard you earned 1400 SP on your own effort so don't be too hard on yourself, you had to do it in the high priced times and that's not easy. I know plenty of the big accounts I audited they got in during the 8-20 cent range and just got crazy upvotes for posts and racked up pretty quickly. many of them didn't stick around and powered down in any case but yeah, I can see why, easy come, easy go!

I feel all effort compounds here, so even though Orca is crazy far the momentum is going! Go for it, if you slack, we'll be on your back!

I will keep trying anyway to grow further. You are definitely right about the compounded effort. I've seen it happen all the way through my growth to this stage so hopefully I will keep going. Even my sp has grown by 0.246 in the past day without being touched so in a year that is 90 extra steem just through inflation. It's just a matter of keep working away on all of those little comps and posting and the rewards will build up.

Posted using Partiko Android

We still have a long way to go @chekohler I am not even 20% in my journey to dolpinhood!
But we do have time. I will be glad if I can double my steem holdings in 2019 :)

Holy shit congrats! I wish I had the money to buy my stake I really want!! This is the time to do it when the weak hands are sellling!

I will join you at some point soon hopefully.

Posted using Partiko iOS

It's definitely the time to buy if you can. I know the price might drop lower but i'm happy with getting some at 30c. I'd love to have enough to buy my way to whale but this is a nice step for the moment at least. I'm sure you will get there yourself at some stage. Anybody who is here at the moment and staying active has a great opportunity to grow as well. It's the best time i have seen to gain strong followers and get yourself noticed.

Hey. Congratz maan :D

I did buy more steem aswell, but only 30 euros :p I do have 80 euros invested in steem now ^^ :D Its amazing!

Posted using Partiko Android

That still puts you on a couple of hundred steem and a delegation which isn't bad. The more you have the faster it builds up. 500sp is a big point to get to and after that it really speeds up.

Posted using Partiko Android

I wanna have some impact. Thats the most fun. But yes, 500sp is the next goal. If the markets haven't recovered before Jan. I will invest some more :D

Posted using Partiko Android

No sign of them improving anytime soon so you might just get that chance. Probably at an even better rate the way things are going

Anything under 4 is fine with me :D So this is perfect

Posted using Partiko Android

Last week for the first time I bought a small amount. Mostly because I love the platform. My husband insisted that I invest because I have so much fun here. I think there are other people like me out there who would have a great time but have not 'discovered' Steemit. They may think it's all about crypto...but it's so much more than that for me. Going back today to buy another couple of bits. It's a financial asset (maybe) and a great hobby that I'm investing in.

I think that's the best attitude to have really. Be here because you love it and enjoy spending time here. It has so much to offer over traditional sites and all the new apps are creating an eco system to cover more and more areas.

Price for me is secondary. If it goes up brilliant. If it doesn't I haven't really lost much and have gained a lot.

Posted using Partiko Android

Holy shit congrats! I wish I had the money to buy my stake I really want!! This is the time to do it when the weak hands are sellling!

I will join you at some point soon hopefully.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I know. After being here for over a year I couldn't pass up the opportunity to buy my way up a bit. I waste money on so many things that even if it doesn't work out the risk is worth it. I love so much of what I see on here that I do think we have a big future. I'm sure you will be up here with me soon enough.

Posted using Partiko Android

And again we can welcome a new friendly dolphin in the steem ocean. One which will hunt to down the orcas untill he his one!
Great achievement @niallon11
Let’s hope that steem will moon once again! That all your effort will have paid off!
Cheers,
Peter

Thanks but i doubt i will ever see orca. Ten years might not get you there. Then again never thought i would see dolphin so at least it will keep me busy for the next decade. Hopefully when we see STEEM heading upwards again you will have made it to your target as well. I see that you have been growing steadily so it shouldn't be a problem to get there.

Hi, @niallon11!

You just got a 34.16% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Thank you so much for participating the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Hi @niallon11!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.815 which ranks you at #4506 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 325 contributions, your post is ranked at #65.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95