Work smarter not harder.

in #blog5 years ago

image.png
source

Getting more from your work.



I was doing a training course lately that had to do with leading teams and getting results. During the course there was a story to give an example of working smarter rather than harder.

There were two lumberjacks in the forest called Ken and Tom. They were both asked to cut down a large tree and given an hour to do it. Ken being a strong young lad was full of enthusiasm and tore into the tree with his saw cutting for all he was worth. When he was only halfway through the trunk he was surprised to see the older man next to him felling the tree. It was even stranger as he had noticed the older lumberjack beside him had taken a few breaks during the time. It didn't make any sense as he had been going non-stop a full 50 minutes without a break and was far bigger and stronger than the person beside him. When he said this to Tom, the reply was surprising. "Yes I took a break every 15 minutes but that was only to sharpen my saw and make the work easier".



Smarter not Harder.

SMART


  • Specific
  • Measurable
  • Achievable
  • Realistic
  • Timed


    The quick version of this is that when you are setting tasks or goals you need to define what it is and when you want to accomplish it. Rather than me saying that i would love to become a dolphin some day. The SMART way to plan it would be to say that I want to grow my account to 5000sp in 12 months. This way i have a specific target with a time frame and that would require me to earn 43 STEEM per week for 12 months.
    Is that realistic?
    That part is up to me to decide but it is measurable.

Steemit



How does this apply to Steemit? Well from what i've seen from my time on here there are a lot of ways to work smarter rather than harder. It's not all about posting five times a day to earn as much STEEM as possible. You need to sharpen the saw before cutting down any trees.

In my case it is about growing my circle and finding more people producing interesting content for me to follow. Commenting more and getting involved in a few communities. There is not much point in me posting five times a day if there is nobody looking at it.

Getting auto-votes. When I was starting out my posts were making about 0.00 to 0.01 cent for my first few weeks. Now through some of the apps like @partiko, @actifit, @steem-plus, @steem-ua and others my posts can start off at 0.80+ before any proper votes get added on. It's not a lot to some people but over a few months that should add up for me. Making another small gain.

Any suggestions??



What i am hoping to find are a few more easy wins like these. If I do want to achieve my goals in the next year it's important to find new ways to earn STEEM. So I'm putting it out there to all of you, looking for new areas of Steemit that I haven't heard of yet. Let me know what you are doing that is working. Where are the easy wins??


image.png

Sort:  

I love your write up @naillon11,

I have always tried to uncover how to work smarter in life but haven't pinched a way to reciprocate it on this platform. Thanks a lot!

Thanks. I'm not sure how long you are on the platform but I have found plenty of little boosts along the way. Delegating to 250sp to steem-ua gets me a nice upvote every day. Joining helpie does the same. I've been buying my steemmonster cards through steem plus and now they upvote me 40c every day. Combining lots of these will help you to grow faster.

Dustsweeper is a great tool as well if you haven't heard of it. Any vote under 2c doesn't make it as far as you account but using this service bumps up every vote to make sure that you get everything meant for your account. I also did a post ages ago about using smartsteem to vote with your extra sp when your not using it and that will give you some steady payments.

If you have questions or want info just let me know and I will try to help.

Posted using Partiko Android

That's good to know, I guess there is a lot to learn from you.
I'd see to what you suggested!
Thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95