A MIND YOU OWN

in #blog6 years ago

IMG_20181010_081610_edit.png

The worst thing in life is a educated fool

The greatest injustice, if you ask me, is arming a fool with knowledge. We have this impression that knowledge changes people, and the more access one has to it the better he or she becomes. However, I do not agree totally to this statement because to be frank, some of the most dangerous people in this life have unlimited access to information and resources. That aside, I think another fundamental skill one needs to develop is the ability to think critical about every and any thing.

Most people think in quote. You cannot separate some people from what they know, in other words, you cannot convince them of other possibilities irrespective of the fact that these said possibilities are far more feasible and accurate than their current reality or truth. This is one of the reasons I am not fond of fanatics. They are so engrossed in their knowledge of the truth that they do not see other possibilities; they cannot make a sentence without making reference to a book or quote. It is important to give credit to whom it is due but most people do so in other to solidify their position. Their reference to a book or person makes their assertions unquestionable.

It's easy to manipulate people who do not think for themselves. We've seem most of the worst crimes against humanity being based on justice, and references been made to a holy book. In this part of the world this has created a profitability means for extortion and a breeding ground for very docile and complacent people. We have people who would rather pray than fight against injustice; we have people who would give offerings than engage in any meaningful work in expectation of some miraculous breakthrough. Most of these people are well educated but you see them falling for unintelligent tricks, this is because they do not have a mind of their own. Whatever comes out from a book is true. I used to think the same way as a young teenager who had a keen interest in books, and yes they did have a positive impact on my life, but one fundamental skill I developed is thinking critically about everything, or almost everything. This might have been as a result of reading books with contrary views, so you might say it was accidental and not intentional. This wouldn't have been possible if I had restricted my quest for knowledge to a certain kind of truth. Also, I developed my love for psychology and one of the books I bought then highlighted on critical thinking. Although I did not take it too serious then but I am beginning to see the importance of this skill in our current day world.

Having a mind of your own doesn't mean opposing everything, it is about weighing the merit and demerit of a thing and making an informed judgment.

I must also mention this idea has it's own demerit as we have large amount of people who are so keen on challenging every thing. Fake woke people springing up from every corner with their conspiracy theories that are not necessarily baseless but are light years away from the truth. The truth in this sense is relative.

If you think critically about this article you might agree with some of my assertions but you will also point out its demerits, as well as other ways of furthering the conversation.

In a nutshell, I believe it is important that we think for ourselves and not conform to every notion of the truth. This allows for opinions not to be polarised and it also creates room for furthering conversations and ideas.


Vote @kevinwong for witness

Go here: https://steemit.com/~witnesses
Look for @kevinwong and vote.

Alternatively, you can vote through Steemconnect here:

https://steemconnect.com/sign/account-witness-vote?witness=kevinwong&approve=1

Sort:  

Interesting post @nonsowrites 😉 well.. I appreciate your opinion based on my knowledge after reading many books too 😊 and it's fun to use the critical thinking over everything in this life... except one😅 people behaviour or it will turn you to be an annoyed one. As you know education system doesn't create a creative thinker😉

Found your post through @mmunited entry post in the pay it forward this week. And I think this is not your first encounters with the pifc 😄

Good post. I will feature your post in payiforward curation contest.

Here is the contest link: https://steemit.com/payitforward/@pifc/week-27-pay-it-forward-curation-contest-323180a143e0cest

Thank you very much, and I also know about the contest :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Interesting thoughts, @nonsowrites!

PS: I've found you after @mmunited featured you in an entry for the Pay It Forward Contest

well thank you for stopping by, I appreciate :)

The worst thing in life is a educated fool

I do not believe in educated fool. A fool is a fool no matter how many diplomas or certificates he or she got from any school or learning institutes.

This is one of the reasons I am not fond of fanatics. They are so engrossed in their knowledge of the truth

The danger there is: is what they know really the truth? Fanatics in my country are blind. They blabber here and there. They bash people around who gives a different point of view up to the point of putting up a fight. And I see it very dangerous. My country is going down because of millions of fanatics. Oh stop... I am not here to whine. 😂

Very good flow of your thought here. I don't think I can write something like this until I have actual experience which I can put words into. That is actually my challenge in writing.

Hey, where is your entry to the Pay It Forward Curation Contest?

I love some of your thoughts on this one! Especially the "educated fool" thought.

Thoughts that I got from reality... Thank you. 😊

Very true @nonsowrites! The world needs more people who can think for themselves and less who simply follow stupidly and blindly :)

I found your post because @mmunited featured you in a Pay it Forward Curation Contest entry; we'd love to see you join us with a post of your own next week too :)

thanks for the comment, and i will try to partake in next week's contest :)

The idea that we think in quotes is a very interesting one. I know that various quotes come to me all the time - whether a book I've read, a movie I've watched or even something I've written myself.
Good philosophical foray.

I've found your post today thanks to @mmunited's entry to the Pay it Forward Curation contest. Keep up the great work!

thanks for reading

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61258.08
ETH 2873.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56