REMEMBER YOUR FIRST MONTH HERE?

in #blog5 years ago (edited)

It seems like I am in the zone today. 3posts! (This was written yesterday) With this ridiculous price?! I must be crazy right? Well, I am crazy enough to share my precious thoughts with you. Since some of you have decided to be mute and worry about the price of steem falling, someone has to keep this place active. But guys, I told you the price was going to slide down to $0.20. If it will make you feel any better, I predict that it is going to slide down to $.05 before the year ends. Won't that be great?! Finally, that heart attack you've been praying not to have is coming, and it is closer than you think.

I am captain of the sinking boat tonight

Well, today a young lady walked up to me. He asked that I explain this steem thing to him. According to him, he has noticed how much time I spend in this betting shop not betting but pressing my phone--for hours. He probably thought I was am an online fraudster. Unfortunately, I do not look the part. With my shorts and T-shirt, there is not scammy about my appearance. Well, he said he is an artist and want to monetize his talent. Reminds me of myself some months back when I joined steem. He kept making emphasis on the money. how much can I earn?; can I make a hundred dollars in a week? In my mind I'm like: come on bro, this is not MMM/Ponzi scheme. Well, I tried to explain to him that steeming is a lot of work, but I don't think he got that into his head. He was still excited about the prospect of earning.

The other thing he asked was the value of steem. I went to check @yensesa exchange where I sell my steem. Don't give me that look, this is like my only job you know, I have to survive. Well, logging in to my account I almost had a heart attack. Steem is what?! 90 naira ($0.27). That can't even buy me a bottle of coke. Depressing. However, that hasn't changed much of my earning capacity. I still earn about $2-$5 per day, so that is more steem for me. Becoming a minnow doesn't look far-fetched now.

After checking the value of steem, we want back to my page where I showed him all that I have made so far. We happen to scroll down to my first post and I couldn't help but laugh. Take a look:

How soon we forget our humble beginnings. This was the most frustrating period of my time on this platforming. I went weeks without earning a dime. Honestly, I almost gave us. But look, we are still here, at this point where everything seems to be taking a downturn. Fortunately for me my early days prepared me for this time. If steem was to drop to $0.05 I will still be here. What is there to fear? I probably will have the liberty to express my thoughts freely without fear. The worst that can happen is that we all sink together.

I have other things to worry about right now other than steem. Right now, all I need steem for is to pay for my internet subscription, but I doubt if my vendor would be willing to accept steem at this point. So I might end up powering up everything I have got, or gamble like I have been doing lately.

I'm sorry if I am making light a sensitive issue but humor is the only way I can deal with stress right now.

I think things will get very intense in the coming weeks. more complaints, more selling and most importantly fewer believers, but that's all we need right now. I have said before that all we need is to get our head out of the water and float as long as possible to keep things going on here till we get our big break, which might not happen anytime soon.

I am captain of the sinking boat tonight! Swim fishes, swim!

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

I also remember those days all too well! For the first couple of months here I was earning more from my comments and engagement than my posts! However, it helped me gain an understanding of engaging which led to followers as well! It has been an interesting journey that is still just beginning!

Posted using Partiko iOS

It has been an interesting journey that is still just beginning!

Hoping for many more years on the steem blockchain

Posted using Partiko Android

You pay for Internet subscription with Steem directly without changing to Naira first? If so, who's your vendor if I may ask?

Yes. I exchange steem for data. I buy from @apeximomen

Posted using Partiko Android

That's amazing. That's a great initiative actually. I'll have to check that out. Thanks.

You're welcome

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87