I Fell, Again.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

"It's just not in my cards."

There are experiences in life that we long for. Sometimes we long for them so bad, the wanting feels like a burden. A jagged hole.

We scratch at it. We poke at it. We turn it upside down to see if anything comes out. Sometimes, they just go away. Sometimes we fall down them.

We watch and look to see if other people have the same kind of wantings. Sometimes we see people who, by a pure chance alignment of the stars, get to have the experiences we want. The experiences we work so hard to subject ourselves to. They just get it. They're in it. They don't know what it's like to want it. They have it. It can feel like the cards are playing a cruel joke.

Avoiding these holes is about striking a balance between wants and needs, striving and contentment, struggle and acceptance.

Never stand still, but be careful not to find your way into a hole and if you feel lost, try shuffling your deck and drawing a new hand. You'll often find a card you didn't even know you wanted. You may even find the card really was in your deck after all, it just didn't look the way you thought it would.

Sort:  

How's things going @notperfection? Hope you haven't fallen down too big a hole.

Thank you for the concern! I've been having my fair share of accidental spelunking lately, but I'm doing fine. Still working on improving my 3D skills, hopefully I'll have something I feel is worth sharing soon. Hope all is well on your end.

Glad to hear you're still working away in the background. I'm getting more used to Steemit, and luckily found some great communities here early on.

I'm a grad of #WelcomeWagon, which is an initiative that helps newbies learn the ropes here, while being supported by the group. Through this I also found my way to #BuddyUp and contribute in their weekly #dropintheocean show where we post and discuss the word of the week.

This week's word is lucidity and I'm working on my post today. Sundays and early Mondays are the time for posting and then at 8 pm UTC we come together and chat on the Discord channel for the BuddyUp community.

If you ever feel like joining let me know. I'm sure I'd be able to supply a link to the show. :)

Those do sound like interesting communities. I remember seeing your #WelcomeWagon post, congrats!

Oh, lucidity. Sometimes I feel just a little to lucid if I'm being honest, but I know burying my head in the sand will only let things get worse.

Word of the week posts sounds like a fun idea. I would be interested in finding out a little more about these communities.

Congratulations @notperfection! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65035.33
ETH 2950.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66