October Reading ListsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

WriterJournalbyChristianCruz2017.jpg

Dear Steemians:

I hope your October is off to a good start.

October is an interesting time of year here in NY. The shifting of foliage from verdant green to crimson-yellow. The bittersweet lamentations of students over the summer season's end. Businesses tallying up their 3rd Quarter earnings and losses. And for many, the holidays now in sight. A busy and stressful time indeed.

Speaking of stressful times, I'm still working on a new piece and hope to have it finished by the end of this week/start of next week. I figured I drop a few suggested readings in the interim should you need an escape from the all hubbub of the season. I know I do.

Here they are:

  • The Well of Ascension (Book 2 of Mistborn Trilogy) by Brandon Sanderson
    I started to reading this series based on the suggestions of my friends @stormblessed and @hickey. Much to their chagrin I have taken my time with finishing the series. There are so many things to do and books to read that it's sometimes hard for me to finish things in a timely fashion.
    Going back to the book, it's been an enjoyable read thus far. But before you jump on this book, check out the first book of the series, The Final Empire. The first book had me hooked. The author, Sanderson, demonstrates how masterful a creator he is of literary univeres. The world that he creates in this trilogy is so well thought out and planned that one would believe in “literary karma.”

  • Bird by Bird by Anne Lamott
    Another suggested read by my good friend @hickey. A literary craft book that aims at helping aspiring writers. I just started this book, but from reading the first chapter alone I believe this will become a go to book for inspiration and tips on writing.

  • American Gods by Neil Gaiman
    A science fiction / fantasy novel by Neil Gaiman. I first heard about this book when Starz released a TV adaptation of the book. The book is about the old gods and new gods of this world battling it out. I purchased the audiobook of this one. It was kismet. I decided on the audiobook because I wanted to listen to it while driving from NYC to North Carolina. What I didn't realize was that in addition to the book being about gods, it was also a book about traveling. Maybe the gods had a hand in me picking up the audiobook. If you're into mythology and traveling then you should definitely pick this book up.

  • The Buried Giant by the newly minted 2017 Nobel Laureate Kazuo Ishiguro. I have this book in the queue. This book piqued interest due to the fact that Ishiguro is a fantasy writer. The Buried Giant takes place in old Briton. It looks like a promising read.

Well that's it for now, I will try to list more books as the time passes. Hope you found something of interest. Until then stay healthy and "well read."

Sincerely,
Chris

P.S. - If you have any suggested books, please feel free to leave your suggestions in the comment section.

© 2017 Christian Cruz

Sort:  

Congratulations @oceanrift! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments
Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Thanks for the shoutout! I'm glad we're both reading it. It's been a great book so far.

Congratulations @oceanrift! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62414.94
ETH 3019.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58