How To Become Another Steemit Blogger No One Cares About

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

pexels-photo-262272.jpeg


Blogging on Steemit comes with a lot of challenges and If I start to list them this post will become longer than I want it to be

A lot of people hopes has becomed hinged on the upcoming Hivemind and SMT features. Some respectable Steemains have hinted that it will make quality content writers get what they really deserve

It is no news that reward for content on this platform leans more towards relationships than quality of content. And unless you are proficient at creating Influential relationships , you may struggle to get the amount of earnings you desire

There are no Assurances on this platform , every single post has it's own set of outcomes. I am not even sure this post I am writing will get read or the minimum amount of comments it will get even if people read it. Since Steem Inc removed the view monitor it is hard to know how well a post did

The fact that Reddit is censoring Steemit links also means that there are now limited places to even promote content for people who are building outside platform engagement

Now I have discovered that there is an exodus from Steemit due to some reasons but at the same time there are also a lot of newbies judging from the Introduce-yourself tag

Now you must be reading this post waiting for when I Start spewing solutions to this issues I mentioned above, but that is a post for another day. I want to talk about the things that you should not do if you want to last on this platform


pexels-photo-96939.jpeg


The Reverse Israelites

The Israelites were experts at murmuring , those who are acquainted with Bible History know how they murmured all through the desert after Moses Led them out of Egypt after over 400 years of Slavery

Whenever things got hard on they way they were quick to remind Moses of how things were much better in Egypt even though they were subject to hard labour daily

There are people on this Platform who murmur about how unfair the system is . Now I am not saying that you should not speak up when you notice injustice , but there are people who spend all their time on this Platform complaining, on how the system is unfair

Things might not be as desired here, but always find ways to bring you own little dose of positivity to this Platform

Always being a source of negative news at all time will make people get tired of your content. And considering the fact that other social media platforms like Facebook don't pay you for activtity, this is the best place to be

The truth is that Steemit is just a Mirror of real Life, there is no equality. There will always be Whales here and complaning about their presence won't help. One thing I have learnt early is to be content with whatever my post earns whether it earns $1 or $100

I remind myself that there are people who earn much less than that and that I am fortunate to get what ever comes to me


spammy-mothers-day.jpg

Image Drawn by @overkillcoin


Spamminators

I am not an expert at talking about spammers , it is something @overkillcoin is an expert at, but I will try my best

There are Steemians whose level of Spamminess (new word) amazes me, they are the ones who keep making the same mistake despite being flagged for it. They have a bot-like perseverance at spamming and they go at it like they are like Computer programs

The ones who attain legendary status are the ones who open a fresh Steemit account and continue where they stop, I am well aware of this because one of the people who I told about Steemit did that and by the time he was quitting Steemit he already had three accounts with close to zero reputation

There are the ones who are quick to complain and rant but they are the ones who make no effort to bring any Iota of value .

One thing you should know is that providing value on this Platform is not hard, it is as simple as making good comments on post . I even know Steemians who earn more weekly with comments than posts especially product reviewers @steemhunt

Another thing is that they also supplement their spammy comments with posts that have no direction.

Spamming is something that I can make a full post on, so lets move on


pexels-photo-1001990.jpeg


Brand Pirates

One of the greatest thing you can build for yourself on this platform is a personal brand. Steemians like @papa-pepper and @modernpastor are people who I easily point to when teaching people about building a brand on Steemit

It also goes beyond content, it also involves community building and blog design. There is no one else on Steemit who will come to your mind easily when it comes to homesteading apart from @papa-pepper and @modernpastor gold and black design stands out in the sea of Teal on this platform

Of course you might point to Steemains who have no form of personal brand but still earn well, some of them don't even have a profile picture, But if you are building from the ground up, then building a strong personal brand is key

I have always told people

Anything your name is on should be excellent

Don't churn out post for posting sake, write things that you will be proud of even years from now. The Steem Blockchain is Immutable, everything you drop here will be here forever, how else will you convince your children that you are smart if they stumble upon your blog and see badly written posts ;)

So in all you do , aim to produce quality content whether it is a post or a comment


Everyone wants to be remembered, and if you want to be Unforgetable you must not commit any of the crimes I listed above

Make people's eyes light up whenever your post pops up on their home feed and you overtime you will get the full dividends of this Platform and beyond


Thanks For Reading

Image Source:Pexels.com


Follow @ogochukwu


Sort:  

I honestly believe in hardwork and putting your best in what u do because one day you will surely reap the reward.....A failure will always complain.....thanks for sharing this post @ogochukwu.....well done bro.

Thanks for reading @mykel412

I’ve been doing some branding of my own past little while. While I’m not liming myself to just a single thing it is very predominate in what I am writing these days. I still sprinkle in some other stuff as I think it just adds a personal little touch into who I am as a person here. The great thing about a brand is you can use it where ever you see fit. No one knows what the future holds and being able to use that brand elsewhere leaves options on the table if that day one comes.

I’ve also been spending more time trying to be active in a community and have some influence on its future. It’s nice I did not have to build my own from starch and there already people there supporting it. I just need to do the work in creating the detail and making my voice herd in the community. It also lets you see the people there to build something and those that just want put in the minimum for maximum amount of reward.

There is no one size fits all for building a personal brand.

Just build what you will be proud of @enjar

Complain will not make you go far on Steemit, instead, think about creating value for the community or the niche you deserve here.

Exactly @chesatochi Thanks for reading

Thanks for this honor :)
You are someone I can recommend every single Steemian here. You found always matching words in a calm and friendly way. The best is yet to come for you :)

Thanks for the kind words Ray

@modernpastor

Hi Ogochukwu,

Thanks not just for the post but for the priceless information you just shared.

Spamminators, piranhas, Brand Pirates;
@Ogochukwu.
How do you churn out these words?
Nonetheless, I thought Brand pirates on seeing the word, will mean People that recopy or try to be a brand they are not judging from the perceived meaning of the word, Pirates

This is my favorite title that I've read today.

Amen ooo! I found this very apt. So many people grumble but ask them to work on quality content and they'll begin to procrastinate! If everyone would just let go of that "entitlement" syndrome and be grateful for what they have as they aspire to grow and make more friends....we'll see some pretty healthy upthrust in many more as opposed to just a few. Thanks for this fantastic post @ogochukwu.

#bigwaves

Thanks for reading and the wonderful reply @mosunomotunde

Honestly, I thought Steemit would be that platform where I compete with people from around the world for earnings just like we do in school. But I realized it's very much different here. So instead of checking my blog every once a while to see my earnings, I just wrote and posted in the best way I could find my words. Just like you said, I want to one day sit back and look at my posts and smile at how well I have done, and how that has pushed me to where I am today. This is a really wonderful post, and I think many newbies will appreciate the information it provides. Just write, and share with the world. Your earnings may not reflect it, but you may have made the day of someone you may never meet; and that's a good thing to me. Thanks @ogochukwu for this

Very true @steempoet

The quality of content posted on this Platform will greatly increase if good posts are rewarded.

But since it is not so, just work on producing quality content, that's what will make you stand out

I agree with you big bro...instead of murmuring, it would be better to use that time to comment on as many post as you can...at least with that one can be earning...i just can't thank you enough for this wonderful article of yours....it so so on point...what have been keeping me going these days is consistency and perseverance

Thanks foe reading. Steem On @caesar816

Good words, Bro!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66304.34
ETH 2983.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68