One experience offshore!

in #blog6 years ago

Hello friends of Steemit!

Welcome to the first post in which I share with you an experience related to my area of work.

During my work as Operations Engineer in an Offshore Project I have the opportunity to live interesting experiences, and today I want to show you one of them.

In the following video you can see the way in which is done a staff mobilization in offshore operations. In this case, it's a transfer by sea using a Supply ship to transport the staff to the drill ship.

Transportation of personnel from onshore facilities up to vessels or offshore platforms can be by air (via helicopter) or sea (using supply and logistical support ships "Offshore Supply", or boats of transport of personnel).

According to my experience in terms of crew change by sea, fast boats are the most traumatic, since being a small boat the wave effect feels strong and more likely that the persons suffering a decompensation during the trip. In addition, the way to enter to the drill ship is using a rope ladder situated in the lateral part of the drill ship; the boat is located close to the drill ship and the person should take the ladder to climb through it, this listening simple but do it this while the two boats are moved to the rhythm of the waves is not an easy task.

Supplies's disadvantage is that the transfer is slow, but I feel more secure when the crew change is done this way, because the entrance to the drill ship is using basket (like in the video). I try not to look down, but I always do, and end with that slight fright ramming in the stomach.

Work offshore has been an experience that has allowed me to grow both professionally and personally, managing to overcome my fears on each of these activities.

I hope that you liked this post since I want to continue sharing with you more experiences of my life in the sea.

The image and the video were taken with my phone Huawei P7 aboard the Drillship PSS. I apologize because my finger is seen in the video, but I didn't want my phone to end into the sea...

Greetings, we read soon!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 64693.66
ETH 2975.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70