How I injured myself doing YOGA- part 2

in #blog6 years ago

So I finally went to the Orthopedic MD and he examined my knee. My injury was in January. I was in a yoga workshop and practicing a pose called flying pigeon. My knee popped and my toes went numb for a few seconds. Then my leg was swollen terribly for several days and I had pain in the outer aspect of my knee.

During the examination he didn’t appreciate any joint instability which would be a sign of ligament damage. He also did not appreciate any pain with manipulation that would indicate a meniscus tear or injury. What he did note was a tenderness over top of the IT band and is recommending treatment for IT band inflammation.

We discussed the option of obtaining an MRI, but he felt it not recommended based on my symptoms especially considering the cost of the procedure. ($730 USD) He instead offered a simple solution for the time being that will also aid in the diagnosis of the condition. He recommended a steroid injection into the IT band and specific exercises. He wanted me to check back with the office in 2-3 weeks and if I did not note any improvement in the symptoms then we could explore further treatment. He asked me to consider thinking of the steroid injection as a diagnostic tool. In other words if no improvement is noted after following the strict recommendations then it can be deduced that a different injury is possible. At that time I could consider an MRI imaging. This option was much more affordable at $80 USD for the injection.

The steroid injection was not too bad either. At one point he nicked a nerve or something and I reflexively jerked back. But, other than that, it hurt a lot less than I thought it would. :)

I will start doing my exercises in 4 days. The doctor told me no exercise, surfing or kitesurfing for 4 days. WHAT!! I did teach a lesson later that afternoon, but that's a different story than riding for fun. I am assuming that means just take it easy... don't over do your kite surfing... ehhhh. I only have 2 more days to make it through, but it is difficult to follow his advice.

Once I begin the exercises, then continue them for 3 weeks total, and hopefully I will feel better. If I can avoid paying for MRI imaging than that would be great.

Wish me luck

Sort:  

Fly to Australia and get some physiotherapy treatment there best in the world for sports injuries.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Interesante Publicación.?

As far as I know steroid injections are very good against the inflammation. I hope that it will help you soon!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62931.02
ETH 3031.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64