Home Made Paleo Apple Butter

in #blog5 years ago (edited)

Early last November, I was given a four pound bag of apples, plus I already had one pound on hand. What do you do with five pounds of apple? Apple pies were out of the question, not my favorite pie. Then I thought about applesauce, my granddaughter loves my homemade applesauce. but that was too many apples to peel. Apple butter came to mind because Cracker Barrel serves this Jam'n Apple Butter on hot buttered biscuits that is simply to die for. But then again, I would have to peel apples.

Pinterest is my go to for finding recipes for just about anything I can think of. I search for a recipe that was easy and did not require a lot of work. I found a apple butter recipe that you cook in a crock pot without peeling the apples Yipee.

Here is the recipe from Pinterest that I based my apple butter on.

SLOW COOKER APPLE BUTTER {NO SUGAR ADDED}

Prep Time: 10 minutes
Cook Time: 11 hours
Total Time: 11 hours 10 minutes
Serves about: 3 cups

INGREDIENTS
• 5 lbs. apples (about 7 medium apples)
• 2 teaspoons cinnamon
• 1/4 teaspoon ground cloves
• 1/4 teaspoon allspice
• 1/4 cup water

From https://www.familyfoodonthetable.com/slow-cooker-apple-butter-no-sugar-added/

But this is how I made my easy, homemade, paleo apple butter.

_MG_6874-Edit.jpg

INGREDIENTS
-5 lbs. apples (10 to 12)
-1 1/2 tbs. cinnamon
-1/3 tbs. nutmeg
-1/2 tsp. ground cloves
-1/2 c. water
-1/2 c. coconut sugar

INSTRUCTIONS

  1. Core apples and leave skin on. This was the best part, although it was time consuming coring all those apples, it was better then peeling them.

untitled (1 of 1).jpg

  1. Place cored apples in crock pot. I usually pre-heat my crock pot.

  2. Add spices, sugar and water, then stir to combine. I tasted the apple butter as it was cooking and decided that it just was not sweet enough, that is why I added the coconut sugar. But you can make it to your taste.

  3. Cook on high for approximately 5 hours, stirring every 45 minuets or so. This is to prevent sticking.

  4. Use an immersion blender to blend apples. Should be kind of smooth.
    Crop Pot Apple Butter.jpg

  5. Cook on low for another 2 hours, stirring every 30 minutes.

  6. Use immersion blender to blend until smooth. If any peels are visible, cook another hour. You be the judge on the smoothness. I took some out at the applesauce stage and saved it for later to use in other recipes or as a snack.

Here is a picture of an immersion blender, in case anyone was wondering what it was.

Here is the image address. https://media5.picsearch.com/is?FhfmMa6tI48nLsIVEoLmXOtI2aVRGMHqYbT360e7i6w&height=341

Here it is, if I must say so myself, it is good. It will last for about 30 days in the refrigerator. It is best heated and served on bread or whatever you choose to put it on.
This recipe makes enough to store in about 4, 13 oz. jars. You can halve recipe to make less.
_MG_6876.jpg

Paleo Apple Butter.jpg

Bon Appetite !!!
@paleotwist

Sort:  

Your apple butter looks delicious. I'll have to try your recipe using my crock pot. I love saving time with food preparation.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63071.06
ETH 3121.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84