You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Thoughts from the Front Lines: Come Out From The Whiners!

in #blog6 years ago

"Oh, you have such easy children! Mine would never sit like that."

LOL - I remember one lady once saying, "Wow, my children would never do that!" when all they did was walk over and pick something up that I asked them to. I was thinking, "Wow Mom, you must be a huge shameless failure. Failure because your children will not obey you and shameless because you mentioned it."

Another case of reaping what we sow.

Sort:  

Ack...I tell you, I do definitely feel like a failure when I say something like, "Abby, go make your bed" and I find out twenty minutes later she's lying on the floor playing with her pillow.

Teaching obedience is no happy accident, that's for sure!

I have a friend who used to say that when he was younger he was surreptitious about watching people in stores when he was curious about their strange behavior. And then as he got older he would just go ahead and stare because he realized they had no shame in what they were doing.

One of the most difficult thing about our society is how many things we should know to blush at - such as not being able to get our kids to obey - and yet we have no clue we should even be embarrassed!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63247.38
ETH 3242.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90