Of ghost towns and going home | Diary Entry #9

in #blog6 years ago

"Ghost town"

People are truly set to enjoy their vacations this week. Yesterday, all government services are cut to 12 noon so employees could get to their provinces as early as yesterday for Maundy Thursday. UPD had announced no work and classes earlier Monday, though, so you bet the university looked like what I would call ghost town.

As soon as 12 noon hit, most employees including me had immediately stood up and hurried to punch in our time outs. By the time I arrived at the jeepney stop in front of Sunken Garden, though, I was surprised. There were hardly any cars!

LRM_EXPORT_20180329_060728.jpg

The Sunken Garden, where many people hung out, was completely deserted. There was not one car passing by. If one did, there would be around 5 minutes of interval before the next one. There were hardly any jeepney that would drive out of the uni! All jeepeneys that passed by were the Ikot ones (which literally just went around uni) and the Katipunan ones (which would take you to the adjacent Katipunan area).

LRM_EXPORT_20180329_060758.jpg

Passing the time

Because there were hardly any jeepneys that would go out, I had to wait nearly 40 minutes before I was able to hop into one. The queue was very long (but really, that wasn't an unusual sight) and we had to stand under the scorching sun. What's worse, I had a huge and heavy backpack with me and I swear that my spine would break any moment then. I couldn't put it down because I was literally standing on dirty ground.

So to pass the time, I decided to play around with my phone by taking random pictures of the sadly deserted Sunken Garden.

By the time I got onto a bus on my way home some 2.5 hours later, I was seriously dizzy. As per usual, though, the dizzy spells weren't new to me...

...except that they were especially bad the past few days.

My anti-vertigo meds weren't working as well as they did before, and I was definitely considering taking two tabs a time if I weren't anxious of the consequence. The dizziness was definitely affecting me badly at work, however. It's getting annoying.

Hopefully, some vacation would do the trick. I have written a research paper and am set to submit it on Saturday for a conference in Palawa n with the go signal of my Boss. Hopefully I get it through!

Best,
Poor Kid #1

Sort:  

It's such a refreshing sight to see a deserted UPD. This rarely happens, and I am so happy you were able to capture it for us! Kinda jealous though that you got to see this in person! Hehe!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61665.59
ETH 2884.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62