Of scholarships, data science, and Coursera | Diary Entry #1

in #blog6 years ago

Hi, this is Poor Kid #1.

While yesterday we introduced ourselves as a duo from the Philippines, I'm afraid you'll only get to see either one of us today and in the coming days. (Hazel is currently busy with acads, and while I have a lot of stuff to think about, the need for extra income weighs heavier.)

The online course and scholarship

A couple of weeks ago, my superior at work had me submit an application for the online scholarship provided by the government to people who wish to up their skills in the field of data science. I had always wanted to apply since its first batch, but my fear of rejection far outweighs my want to apply. After all, they were adamant to insisting that the slots were limited to a very few people.

(Of course, I have since learned that nothing would happen if you wouldn't try at all. It's just that I am a seriously anxious person.)

Last Friday, however, was a surprise. I actually made it to be one of the scholars for an online Data Science course in Coursera!


The announcement was made via email.

Excited

Of course, I was legit excited. Since I started work in September last year, I have fallen in love with the art of data science. I thought it was wonderful and challenging, and it provides for a promising future. However, I don't have formal training under my sleeves, so I accordingly felt like my skills were lacking.

Hopefully, after six months, lacking no more!


Module 1 of 5 for the course.

I am so excited to start this course. Whoever knew that I actually missed education? I have just graduated a little more than six months ago, but I'm missing the four corners of a classroom, and professors, and homework. I detested school before, but never the learning.

I have enrolled myself to the course as of today and can't wait to finish my first module. Finishing this would be a challenge, but I am determined! Wish me luck, hey?

Have a great day, everyone!

Best,
Poor Kid # 1
@erangvee

Sort:  

Wow!! Congratulations and goodluck #poorkid #1 - @erangvee! Wish you all the luck.😊

Oh wow! Rare opportunity, lucky you! God Bless!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61665.59
ETH 2884.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62