Why the Hate for Television Is MisplacedsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #blog3 years ago

I'm sure all of us have come across an anti-television post at some point, especially if you're an anarchist or have one in your life. These posts will say something along the lines of, "TV shows are called programs for a reason!" Implying your television is a tool used by the elite to brainwash you. While I agree to an extent, these memes didn't make me stop watching TV, but gave me a lingering sense of guilt whenever I opened Netflix.

Not long after, as I fell deeper and deeper down the anarchist rabbit hole, I started jotting down any thoughts I had while watching TV. All the scenes that stuck with me, the connections I made between the show and reality, and things that might be an attempt at brainwashing after all. I also picked out the parts that could be used to prove a point or create an analogy. I loved how these shows could have a deeper meaning than mere entertainment, but this only really applied to actual shows and not the news or reality tv; those I am less forgiving with.

I then moved on to putting my notes together and writing essays. A few of them I have posted online already, and while they didn't get much attention on their own, they have come in handy. People connect with TV on an emotional level, so trying to get someone who's alt-right to accept that being a patriot sometimes means fighting against their own government is easier with the help of Katniss Everdeen!

Because of this, I don't see watching TV as a waste of time for me anymore, or a form of brainwashing, I can stick to my principles while having some leisure time. I can watch a show I enjoy and yet still be productive. What could be better?

I'll still agree that books are better, and I myself prefer reading, but not everyone feels the same and it can be more difficult to get into at times. Doing something we enjoy doing is important and we shouldn't feel ashamed for it as long as we practice moderation. That is asking a lot in the era of binge watching, but the problem here is laziness, not brainwashing!

The ironic thing about the anti-television stance is that a lot of people expressing that perspective are fans of Mr. Robot, The Matrix, and V for Vendetta. I guess their hate is selectively placed.

Perhaps they have been brainwashed by these 'programs' themselves?

000.jpeg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71299.70
ETH 3793.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80