Happy birthday, Internet!

in #blog5 years ago

50 years ago today,

Internet was born. Without getting into the sciencey/IT side of things, can you even imagine a world without internet?

Don't get me wrong, I've grown up without internet. I had an email address since early middle school and only in high school did I start using Myspace, YouTube, Facebook, etc. Nowadays, social media is a beast of it's own and internet is a lot more than social media. I'd like to think that even though science fiction movies predicted our dependence on the INTERNET, I can't demonize this amazing phenomenon.

Yes, being the most connected we have ever been has unfortunate consequences but I don't find myself demonizing internet for it. It's the duality of nature, I think.

So, I pose this question to y'all: what is your favorite thing about the internet?

Photo credit: NASA from Unsplash

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61626.58
ETH 2940.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66