Little Dreams, Great Hopes | A Rural Basketball Story

in #blog6 years ago

IMG_20180519_181244.jpg

A 3-by-3 game of the gradeschoolers and highschoolers in our community basketball court.

We have no class for our review last Saturday. So I planned to go to my hometown (which is in Northern Cebu, Philippines). I arrived at around 8:30 PM. No one's at home. All of my siblings were at the local basketball gym because it was our team's game. Because it is already late at night, ( and I think I can't reach their game) I just stayed home.

The next morning, I noticed my brother woke up very late. After he woke up, he told me that it was our team's game last night and that they arrived home at about 11PM. By the way our parents are not home. So these kids were confident to come home late. There is also nothing to worry about since they come with my older cousins and uncles. And so we're confident about it.

Afternoon came, after I had finished troubling myself with some calculus problems, I decided to chill and play some basketball. I hiked for about half kilometer to reach there. I arrived at our local basketball court but no adult players are there! Only these children at ages 11-15.

IMG_20180519_180709.jpg

This kid is about to shoot the ball.

So then I just decided to watch them play. It's cute seeing them shoot the ball by throwing it in the air (like throwing a metal ball in the shot put). They are great shooters by the way. They probably were greater than me. 😂

IMG_20180519_181042.jpg

Their fans were on the other side watching the game and cheering up.

My younger brother played also, while I sit in the corner watching them play. All the other boys were in the corner chanting and cheering for everyone.

IMG_20180519_180745.jpg

Man down! This kid just rolled on the floor after colliding with another player. A foul was called. Dont worry, he's okay. He just rolled in laughter after bumping with taller guys. Maybe he regreted that decision. 😂

It is good to see them engaged in sports. In the urban areas, most of the children like their age play not with other children, but with computer games. The technology depravity of our area let our young teenagers to engage themselves in sports. These kids dont need a gym or a covered court. A small lot and a small ring and a small ball will do. And most of them dreamed of becoming a varsity player when they grow up. Not to be famous, not to be rich, but to help themselves and their family rise from poverty. When you are a varsity in school, you are granted with scholarship. So then they can go to school and play their dream game as well.

This is our story. This is our game.

Read Scriptures
Soli Deo Gloria
•Follow•Upvote•Resteem•Comment•
@realnairda

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by realnairda from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 67185.32
ETH 3109.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70